It all started in Paris France...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 7th 2007
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Iconic Paris by nightIconic Paris by nightIconic Paris by night

All lit up for the 2007 Rugby World Cup


The start of my official world tour all began 0n the 6th September with a road trip to Bristol Airport with my family to catch a 2pm fight, which was meant to get me to Paris in time for a scheduled 25 day tour of Europe booked with ‘In Trepid Travel’ through an internet based company called Global Village. My travel instructions on how to get there was spot on and even my Easy Jet flight got into Charles De Gaulle Airport 20 minutes early. As I head towards my first hotel destination the Hotel Cecelia, Montmartre, via the RER train service, I have moments to spare running through a light shower only to find the tour operator had given me the wrong joining date and I had arrived not 2 minutes late, but too days early?! After some discussion with the very helpful hotel reception staff and a few phone calls made by them to the various tour operators involved, an additional two nights accommodation was arranged for me at the Hotel.

For my first full day in Paris I reaquainted myself with some of the main sites. Firstly I took a walk from the hotel leaving my map behind to take a look around the general area of the hotel, and after passing the Follies Bergier Theatre, I glimpsed the Sacre Coeur perched high up on a not too distant hill, this instinctively helped determine my first course for the day and sure enough within a 40 minute walk and approximately a 1000 steps later, I arrived. During a serene service held and sung by Catholic nuns and a priest, I lit a candle, had some private thoughts, and made my way around to enjoy the beauty of this historic basilica.

I had visited the area a few years before and I new that I was only a short distance from the Moulin Rouge, I took the central stone staircase and having dodged a number of persistent street sellers after about 20 minutes I there it was? What I had forgotten (truly?!) is that it resides within the red light district of Paris and being a middle aged man, alone, had no end of invites into various illustrious (emphasis on the lust..? ) sex type establishments….(and its was still only 10.30am in the morning?!) I was happy to resist their charms and soon after found a traditional Irish Bar where I sat and enjoyed a chilled Guinness served by a young guy from County Down, who asked if I was in France for the World Cup Rugby? I had to admit that I wasn’t, but it did wet my appetite to find a suitable bar showing the opening game between France and Argentina during that evening.

I’m not sure if it was the early morning Guinness, but my plans to then walk to the Arc De Triumph took me on an hours adventure heading outside of the city (never trust Parisian sign posts!) After speaking to two local people for directions, I was given the very good advice that Paris is too big to walk around and I should take the Metro! After a 1.5 Euro payment and a 10 minute tube journey, I arrived on the Champs Elysees. As I walk down over this famous Parisian shopping boulevard and beyond, I reached Cleopatra’s Needle and with a cursory look at a tourist street map, I was able to walk back to the Hotel and to my pleasant surprise passing the magnificent Opera Grand on the way, where the legend of the labyrinths of the Phantom of the Opera was borne. Currently under renovation they unfortunately had very few performances planned for the time I was there and although tickets were available from 7 Euro ordinarily, the only tickets they had left for that weeks performance was 170 Euro, therefore this was an experience I would have to wait for another time?

When I got back to my Hotel I quickly changed and then found a local pub showing the opening world rugby match between France and Argentina. I think the first game nerves and the added expectations in hosting the event affected France who lost. This made it all the more interesting sat amongst the animated and motional French supporters. Although it was feasible for me to catch the first England game on a two hour train journey away against the USA, the timing would clash with my first meeting the following day with the tour party so I decided not to pursue this area.

My evening was completed with a rib eye steak at a local restaurant, where I sat outside and simply watched the world step by.

The following day I woke up early and after a basic but hearty continental breakfast I headed directly to the Louve Museum via the Metro. Although I had visited the buildings of the Louve a number of times before, I had never actually spent anytime inside, but with an opportunity to go and visit the Mona Lisa and Venus de Milo statue, this time it was an opportunity I wasn’t going to pass up.

The Louve is an amazing experience from the moment you approach the museum, enter the pyramid atrium to my first sight of one of the many exhibitions. From Greek statues to Egyptian mummies; King Louise XV1 state rooms to the museums ancient past; third world art to the great 14th & 15th century masters paintings, this exhibition exceeded my wildest expectations. Although I planned to leave earlier to get back for the inaugural meeting, the museum has the ability to hold me as every corner I turned revealed a new exciting treasure.

Eventually I got back to the hotel taking quick bath to sooth my aching feet to be told I would be sharing my room that evening with one of the other intrepid tour group. Three minutes into my bath sure enough there is a knock on the door and I meet my mystery companion…and young man (38) Chinese/Canadian from Vancouver called Freemont Woo. Soaking wet and standing in a towel (at this point I feel very sorry for Freemont as I’m sure he was wondering what he had just let himself into) I let him into the room giving him time to settle in while I finished my bath and after we had exchanged a few politities we both headed downstairs to reception to meet our leader and the rest of the group, who are Roxanne from Melborne, Carl & Kate travelling together from Brisban and Enikor our lovely tour leader from Budapest.

After the formalities had been carried out we all headed to a small French restaurant known to Enikor for our first taste of Paris together. Of course the obligatory Escargot was sampled, followed by duck and pork with an amazing floating island desert (an egg white mellow, floating in cold vanilla custard). We finished the evening with a night time view of the Eiffel Tower and a pint in the official rugby world cup marquee over looking the tower.

The next day was Sunday and although I had seen many of the highlights already, I decided to join with Roxanne and Freemont for the day. Starting at the Pompidou centre, we went on to Notra Dame where we experienced a morning mass with a full coral choir and led by an incense procession offering up the sights, sounds and smells of their holy service. A walk along the River Seine then took us past a whole line of small market stalls selling memorabilia and vintage books and pictures. Freemont was intrigued by the charm of a karma sutra dice which he bought for one of his friends.

Next on the way to Louvre we got slightly lost and stopped at an outside Parisian restaurant to savour our first savoury crepe and a beer. At this point we agreed that part of the travelling experience was to sample as much of the local delicacies that we could stomach. Next we walked through the Louve area on the way up to the Champs Elysees where we came across the famous Lido, at this point we decided collectively that we would book a bar seat for that nights 9.30pm performance of the famous showgirl extravaganza. The rest of the day we took in the Arc de Triomphe, The Eiffel Tower by day and after a quick freshen up back at the hotel we headed towards Sacre Couer where we enjoyed a number street musicians entertaining on the central steps before we found a café in the artists quarter. After we had finished our stakes, I took Roxanne and Freemont via the Moulin Rouge to the Lido arriving at 9.15pm.

Having got there a little early we were usher into the theatre and were offered prime central bar seats and our first glass of champagne. I felt so at home and was really excited about seeing this famous show. Couples were invited to dance to a small swing band on the protruding stage, so Roxanne and I took this opportunity to get a closer look at the front and together enjoyed a light jive before settling back in our seats for the start of the show. The colour, costumes, stage effects and variety of this extravaganza was truly amazing. And provided the ideal finale to our time in Paris.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

New travel friendsNew travel friends
New travel friends

Roxanne and Freemont


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb