Getting to know the city


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 12th 2005
Published: September 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I went to the Eiffel Tower the other night- it's beautiful as the sun is setting. And they still have the lights left on from the millenium, so it starts to sparkle every half hour.

The next day (Saturday) we had a bus tour of the city that highlights the main tourist attractions such as the Champs Elysees, Eiffel Tower, Opera, and Les Invalides. It started raining half way through but we stayed on (even though we were on the uncovered upper level). ONce the tour was over we got off to eat lunch at a little cafe and then went to do some shopping by our school. I bought some shoes at a Foot Locker, which was very surprising especially considering this was not a tourist area. We then went to the Musee d'Orsay, an old train station that has been converted into an Impressionist museum. I saw lots of paintings I studied last semester in my art class so that was very exciting! I went home and changed because I was absolutely soaked and very cold since I was wearing a skirt in the pouring rain, and after dinner we went to Montmartre to see Sacre Coeur and a view of the city at night. Beautiful view but the neighborhood was a little scary.

Yesterday we had another tour of the city that took about four and a half hours but I got many more good pictures (to be posted soon) and then I had dinner at an Italian restaurant.

The city is huge and there is so much to see and learn, especially considering there are over 100 museums. The Musee d'Orsay was exciting and I can't wait to go to the Louvre soon. I also get the opportunity to go to the theater several times since I'm hopefully taking a theater class! I find out at my academic advising session later today.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



13th September 2005

It sounds like you're having a wonderful time in Paris and I'm so so glad! I miss you but I'm glad you're in such a great place. Much love, melissa Oh yea, and right now im doing that wierd clappy thumbs up thingy that neither tiff, steff nor i can remember the name of! but it means i love you!
13th September 2005

victoria! i dont know how to comment on here! :(
13th September 2005

hAVE fUN!!
TORIA, I MISS YOU AND I LOVE YOU!! HOPE YOU HAVE LOTS OF FUN AND STAY SAFE!! dad
14th September 2005

great journal
Victoria, your stories are intriguing and humorous. Keep writting...love to you, the Nelsons
22nd September 2005

ahhhh my victor is in france with out me!! i'm glad to hear you are having such a good time.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb