Waaaa!!! Hooooo!!! I Can Fly!!!!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 18th 2007
Published: August 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone!

Cant remember what I've been chatted about and what I havent!!!!

I always seen to be in a rush when I write these things………….. Today I am on standby for 12 hrs so hopefully I wont get disturbed whilst writing this and have to dash off to work!!


After we graduated there was a delay with a few of our licenses so we had a week off paid!!! This gave us chance to use the perks of being a “hostie”……….. when we graduate we received a FACE card which is a club for those in the aviation business giving us really really good discounts on food, drink and the use of several rather “posh” hotel gyms and pools!!!! We tried to visit most to see what was on offer……. Some of these hotels are amazing!!!!! The nicest I would say is the Shang Ri La…. Which has a pool bar, you can also here the praying from one of the mosques (its so loud an like a singing type of praying- its quite beautiful) and the views are amazing……………. including the tallest building in the world “to be”. I wouldn’t say it’s the most attractive building but it still isn’t finished, don’t think it will be till 2009, it towers the skyline of Sheik Zieyd road.

Had my first flight last week , when I arrived at briefing centre i was petrified!!!! I was mega early (yes Claire- that was early!!!!!) It was to Egypt, it was a turn around so just there and back but i sat in the cockpit for take off and landing so I got to see (in Dubai) the Burj, the palms and the world ( which looks best from the sky anyway) and (in Egypt) i saw the Nile and the Pyramids which was amazing!!! I couldnt believe how strange it was to be in the cockpit!!! I was scared to stand up incase the plane toppled!!!! He he!!!!



Because its our first month we are on standby most of the time so on my first operational flight (which is basically the first flight you are expected to do work!!!) I was on airport standby, waiting at the airport for your name to be called on the tanoid (sometimes you don’t get called out) I was called to Amman which is in Jordan (you don’t stay over) I was so angry as my friend after me got called to London Heathrow!!!!! Ahhhhhhhh!!!! Anyway the flight was fine an I’m feeling a lot more confident about things……………

I had another standby for my second operational but this time it was to Paris!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was so pleased! Although the girl called with me got a Manchester!! Which I wasn’t pleased about! But couldn’t moan about Paris could I!!! I had to go straight to the plane which isn’t usually normal…… before every flight we have a briefing to discuss the flight, get to meet the crew and flight deck (pilots) and we get tested on safety!!……… but obviously someone hadn’t shown up for the flight last minute hence me being called out. Turned out my senior was from Manchester area too so that’s always nice and the rest were really nice too. A few had friends in Paris so I didn’t see them till the flight back but when we arrived at the hotel we got an allowance (90 euros for 24 hrs!!) so I headed straight to the bar then in the morning I pulled myself out of bed and went touring the streets of Paris with my SFS (Senior Flight Steward) and the Captain!! Our aim was to go to the Louvre to see Mona! Previously people had laughed when we said this cos there is always about a 3hr queue but we just walked straight in and even got to take photos which I couldn’t believe! I remember my art teacher telling me how small the painting actually was- and it was…….. We also saw Notre Dame and the Eiffel Tower. The weather was amazing- perfect! It was nice, although this sounds stupid, to be able to wear a cardigan and also my jeans which out sweating!!!! Dubai heat is indescribable! One of the highlights was fresh air and being outside! In Dubai its almost impossible to be outside but its starting to cool down now and it will start to get busier as the heat becomes more bearable. The traffic is unbearable here so god knows what its like in peak seasons!! I’ve been to Paris lots of time but it was different this time as the weather was so good it enabled us to walk along the River Seine. Plus because we only have 24hrs there which includes touring the city, eating, getting ready for the flight back and sleeping then it makes it even more exciting!!!! On the way back we travelled through the night which was exhausting and I had my own door “ Cabin Crew prepare doors for departure”- I now know what all this means!!! I got back into Dubai at 9.30am and felt delirious!! I had been up for over 24hrs, which is easy when you are out partying but not working!!

Its mad as everyone is off visiting different places and its so exciting! My flatmate, Julia was in Tanzania, Africa, a friend Kim went to Frankfurt, Germany, others have been to Perth….. All over the show!! Everyone had their rosters for next month so they see where they are going in advance, and can swap ones if they don’t want them but I’m on standby again so don’t get this pleasure!! But its quite exciting on standby as you dot know where you might end up and other have told me they have had the best places on standby!!! You have to always have a suitcase packed ready just incase you get a layover…… so you have to pack for all conditions!!!

One really annoying thing about this place is that things are never on time!! Claire you would be driven mad!! My flatmate an I ordered a Chinese last night absolutely starving……. We can see the takeout from our balcony its that closed but still 2 hrs after ordering it the thing still hadn’t arrived! Think this is due to our accommodation being new and the language barrier!! Many people working out here do not originate from the UAE……. We never got the Chinese! Also taxis can take up to 2 hrs to arrive, if at all to our accommodation! It drives me mad because sometimes we have to get a taxi to work if the staff bus isn’t coming this way which may result in us being absent due to the stupid taxis!!!! Hence why I am moving as at the place we are moving to at least there is a proper road outside and some landmarks!!!

Another thing out here that is really sad is the labourers. Most come from India…… they are expected to work in the hot conditions averaging at 40 degrees without a break or water…. They earn 15 pounds a month, about 12 of this they send home to there families to support them!!! They are expected to spend 3 yrs I think over here and have their passports taken off them so they have to stay. There are buildings going up over here constantly hence the nickname “Crane City” and the fact taxi drivers cant find buildings. There are some new ones going up next to my building so we see them all the time- its really sad to see.
Nana- this is what we chatted about the other day.

Auntie Anne- was good to chat to you briefly the other day at nanas.

Thank you so much Claire, Nat and Mum who I got post off when I got back from Paris- it was lovely to come back too. I will send some soon- but post boxes are a rarity over here!!!

Tams- still not got yours….. My nana sent one a while back which I never got but I was just hoping she had done the address wrong! Haven’t checked post today though as cant leave my room due to standby in case they call.

I am hopefully moving in the next couple of weeks so I will let you know my new address ASAP! (and telephone number)

Nat- thank you for calling- I was in Paris when we spoke and we got cut off- probably for the best though as I can imagine the phone bill!!!!

Han- thanks for calling Hun…….. Sorry I used all of Mr Bennett’s credit!!!

Al- where are you mate?! Haven’t heard from you in a while- reckon you have hitched up with a LA chick and living the high life!!!!!…. He He!

Vix and Vic- have you booked those tickets yet? You’ll have the best time!!

Jess- Hope you are enjoying the school holidays and you had a good time in the Isle of man with Nana, Nanny and Auntie Anne.

Carl, Paula, Jess , Emily and Sophie- heard you managed to get a few days away…. Hope the weather was good for you all.

Lindsey B at Birse- Happy Birthday!!! Hope you had a good party!









Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



30th August 2007

jealous
all that travelling sounds great but very tiring!!!! I take it you didnt get the melbourne flight?? alls well here and really starting to warm up!! loved the cabin crew arm doors call.. very lavish hotels as well take care mwah me xxx
31st August 2007

hi chick,read the blog ,world traveler now eh keep writing see you soon,keep blogging.are you impressed with me ist time on computer.xx
2nd September 2007

Wahoo!
Oh hun you are doing so well!! The pictures are lovely! Fun places, good weather and by the looks of it some nice people. Miss having you here but it all looks great! can't wait to see you again. x x x x xx x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x xx x x x x x x x
2nd September 2007

hi
Hi Rebecca, How nice to see your photos. I hear a bit about your travels from Dad at work. Glad everything ok with you and youre enjoying your new life. Everyone here is ok. Ive had to have some help from Dom with this but perhaps it will sink in and might manage on my own soon, look forward to hearing more soon xxxxx

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0871s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb