Slight change of plans


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
July 27th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok so I have altered the plans a bit since I last wrote. I was surfing the web trying to find a place to stay in Paris for a few days and it became clearly apparent that the town is booked for the weekend! I was planning on heading to Angoulème from Bordeaux to try and catch the 3rd and 2nd last stages before heading into Paris but seeing as how it was difficult find a place to stay (taking into consideration the price and proximity to a train station) I decide to come to Paris early. So here I am...in Paris, well the suburbs. Getting here was quite the ordeal however. Having only spent the night in Bordeaux (unfortunately not enough time) I was back on the TGV towards Paris. Here's a little side note about the trains...the TGV is a nice way to get around. The seats are comfortable and there is ample space to move around, even in 2nd class. The down side is the fact that all this extra space allocated to personal space reduces the amount of room there is for luggage. Now, being a traveller who has 2 large pieces of luggage (a bike and a bike trailer) can make things rather difficult. Everybody is in a hurry to either get on the train or get off, so the 2 trips it takes to get all my stuff on the train is quite the juggling act. Once I'm on however, I now have to rush to grab what little space there is on a luggage rack to put some of my stuff on it. It's ok if you're one of the 1st stop of the day but in the case of today, there was no room for anything! Instead of sitting in my comfy seat, I got to sit on a jump seat by the door while holding onto my luggage. That was alright, I dealt with that without any real fuss. Once I arrived in Paris though became a different story. I'll keep this short. I got off the TGV at 2:30pm local time and then had to navigate through a series of 4 different train and metro networks just to get to my hotel. I only took the wrong train once and that was because I wasn't aware that they have different trains heading to different stations on the same rail line! Anyways, I am looking forwards to being in Paris for the next week and I am totally planning on doing the tourist thing while I am here. Not sure where I'll be heading off to next but that's something to worry about for next week. Please keep the comments coming, I love hearing what you have to say...and the fact that people are actually reading these. Pictures have been posted on Facebook...mainly because its much easier to do it there then on this website.
Aurevoir pour le moment mes amis!
Mike

Advertisement



30th July 2007

You Seem Very Busy Mike!
Bonjour le cousin Mike, comment sont vous Not sure if that is correct, I used an online translation website haha! Well, I have been keeping up to date with what you are up to, and it seems like you are having a very fun time! Wish I could do what you are! I recall the Metro from when I went to Paris about 5 years ago! It can be quite an ordeal, ahah, but I guess more so for you seen as you have a Bike and Trailer, difficult! I have shown Hannah's Dad you Tour Photos, as he is a big fan and has been watching it! I hear the main guy has been knowcked out due to missin drug tests? Gutted! Right, well, just let me know when you think you will be nearby! Au Revoir! CRAIGO!
31st July 2007

Update from home
Hey man, we got by the first week without you for base ball and in fact won 46-24 ya I know it was pretty nuts combined we hit 14 home runs over the fence, but last week we were missing 7 home run hitters and had only 5 guys and lost to Jenny's team by 6 runs. As far as ridding goes were all trying to get out as much as we can, your posting are my ensentive to ride and get on my mountain bike about 4 or 5 times a week, Bartt and I were off sunday and did a drink, ride, drink, ride, drink.....ride through Eaden mills to a pub in Guelph and back, it was great!, Nothing like what you have for scenery though. Jenn is getting ready for Kingston and loosing her mind in the process, sean and Krystal are doing really well, however, xbox hasn't been the same since you left...lol Jenn just can't master the Breach and clear tactics...lol...anyways.. keep on trucking buddy glad to hear your doing well and not broke as of yet! Mike

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb