Paris day 1


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a terrible overnight TGV train on which I did not get any sleep, I arrived in Paris at Montparnasse Stn. at 6am. I was a little mad, because before I departed from Hendaye, I found that there was another overnight train leaving at the same time that had sleeper seats, but I already had my seat reservation.

I got a little lost finding my train to Jouy en Josas where Bob's school is, but I eventually found where I needed to go, purchased my ticket, and hopped on the train.

When I arrived Bob was there waiting for me, and it was the greatest feeling meeting a friend on the other side of the world, after travelling solo for 2 weeks.

We caught up on some stories, we went for breakfast on campus and walked around for a little bit, and then got our day started.

First, we went for a quick tour of some sites around Paris, and I got a Nutella crepe. Magnifique!!!

Later, we went to the Louvre. I had already seen too many museums over the course of my travels, and I was too tired from the lack of sleep on the overnight train, so we were in and out fairly quickly. I took a photo of the Mona Lisa, even though it is strictly prohibited.

Afterwards, we saw some more sites, and ended up at the Eiffel tower. Bob had already been up, and I didn't really feel like going up because of the lineup, but he convinced me to do it anyways. 3h later I had gone up and down. There were some nice views, but it wasn't worth the 3h wait, or the annoyance of having 6 teenage Spanish girls playing clapping games in line for the entire 3h wait.

I went to bed early because I had been up for 36h straight, and had slept a total of 8h the previous 4 nights, and was starting to feel a little ill from the stress that I had been putting on my body the last few days.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb