Spring Break In Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
March 22nd 2007
Published: March 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

“They’re ruining my vacation, and I’m getting annoyed.” A quote from one of my disgruntled planemates on my flight from Philidelphia to Paris for my Spring Break visit to Kate as she studies abroad.
Vacation: from Latin vacare meaning “to vacate, or be unoccupied.” It’s nice that we have such a privilege. After an uneventful flight to Philly, I learned that we would have a delay on my 8:40 flight; something about a new emergency slide that had to be delivered from South Carolina. We were told the flight would leave about 11:00, but by 11:30, we’re still at the airport waiting to board. Talk about revealing people’s characters… I’ve heard some very cross words. In fact, I’ve even come up with some choice words of my own. Then I think of that word again: “vacate.” Think of all the people in this world that would like nothing more than to vacate their situation. There are people who live in fear for their life every single day. The concept of vacation to them is as foreign as the concept of suffering is to us, and is utterly impossible. And here we are, going on “vacation” to “escape” our privileged, middle-class existence. Honestly, we’re not escaping, but distracting ourselves.
Perhaps most revealing is the children. If anyone has been in good spirits the whole time, it’s the two kids to my left that have been here as long as anyone. They’re still smiling and giggling. It’s inspiring.
Take a lesson, folks.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb