Russian Holidays


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
March 7th 2007
Published: March 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, the nice long post that I have written disappeared! I hate technology and the way it can make you lose so much time! I don't want to repeat everything I wrote, so this one will be very brief. I got back from Russia and have been in Paris for more than a week now. But only now it is starting to feel like before and not so weird. I got used to Russia very quickly and getting "unused" to it was rough. But that is what friends are for and then have unintentionally helped me a lot. The weather here has been very different - almost springtime, but it has been raining a bit too much, which does not help to get the mood up.

In Russia, I spent my time between the usual visits, walks around the city, dinners and tea drinking with friends and my family and occasional parties. I know it doesn't sound like much, but when you don't see people for long periods of time, you just want to be with them, not doing anything in particular. I did manage to go to the theatre, to a museum (expo about Paris 😊 and to an
Moscow river Moscow river Moscow river

outside of Marina's house
ice ring. I also came at a very festive time - with lots of holidays and celebrations. First one was St. Valentines, which we celebrated with Olya and her friends, then Maslenica (a traditional Russian holiday, with many fun traditions, one of which is making blini). Right before I left, we celebrated The Day of Protectors of the Motherland with Olya and her sisters again. In Moscow, I spent very little time, but I managed to go to Tretyakov Gallery and see a bit of the city. Overall, I don't love Moscow, it depresses me too much, just not that pretty and nice of a city like the others I have seen. So every time, I am a bit happy to leave.

Here, in Paris, I have started the new semester, with little enthusiasm at first, but now it is getting more and more promising. I also have March 8th ahead and it gives me some happy emotions. I told myself I would not be travelling for a long time now, but I broke that promise - there was a good deal to go Bruxelles, so I just bought the ticket and we are going in a couple of
Train rideTrain rideTrain ride

out of the window, approaching Ulyanovsk
weeks for the weekend! I will try to post as many pics as possible, and if not, they will be coming as I have more time. Adios!


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Train rideTrain ride
Train ride

The traditional tea cup
Train rideTrain ride
Train ride

out of the window, approaching Ulyanovsk
UlyanovskUlyanovsk
Ulyanovsk

Berezka
UlyanovskUlyanovsk
Ulyanovsk

Berezka
UlyanovskUlyanovsk
Ulyanovsk

Lenin and his mommy
Ulyanovsk Ulyanovsk
Ulyanovsk

My grandma
Ulyanovsk Ulyanovsk
Ulyanovsk

Volga again
St. Valentine's St. Valentine's
St. Valentine's

Wine opening that took about 30 minutes
St. ValentinesSt. Valentines
St. Valentines

little dress up :)
St. ValentinesSt. Valentines
St. Valentines

little dress up :)
UlyanovskUlyanovsk
Ulyanovsk

Olya and I
Ulyanovsk Ulyanovsk
Ulyanovsk

Dinara and I ice skating


7th March 2007

Oi kakaya zima !!!!!! kak ya hochy !!!!!!!! Photos ochen' horoshie, a pamyat' - neizgladimaya na vsu zhizn' Zdorovo !!!!!!! Celyu,mama.
7th March 2007

Hey!!!!
Hey there beautiful! Haven't heard from you in such a long time. Glad to see you're having so much fun. But don't forget about us! Hurry and come back so we can have tea and dinner together too. ^_^ ~Eric
23rd March 2007

Tea cup?
Was für ein Samovar ist dass im hintergrund denn?! Tisk tisk, ich bin sehr enttäuscht von dir... although I have to give you credit for the choice of attire - I always respected the uniform in its typical setting, but had certain historic junctures appeared more like that, the map would probably look quite a bit different today (-;

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb