We'll always have Paris...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
July 7th 2005
Published: July 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Salve!

Spent the weekend in Paris with my friend Veronyca. It was amazing and exhausting! The French and their city are quite elegant. Saw all the famous sights--Notre Dame, the Louvre, Eiffel Tower, etc. Walked down the Champs Elysees and took in everything French. Had some delicious crepes at a little cafe near the Eiffel Tower. All the French were very nice and accomodating. My favorite thing to do there was to sit out on the lawn in front of the Eiffel Tower people watching--some were reading, picnicking, or playing a pick up game of soccer. Very relaxing. I didn't think the city was particularly "romantic" but I could see how a couple might enjoy a simple picnic as the sun sets on the tower. Another cool thing that I saw was a group of string musicians playing classical music in the metro tunnel. It was awesome to hear the music of Pachabel Degas (spelling?) while heading for a train. Beautiful!

Monday I went to Venice before heading back to school. I loved it! It was so fun just to get lost wondering the narrow alleyways of the city. The layout of the city is so unique. For instance the stairs leading from the doorways of many of the buildings went straight into the water! Instead of cars, inhabitants have motorboats. I even rode the watertaxi down the Grande Canale. I wanted to ride in a gondola, but, man, are they expensive! There are lots of little cafes all over the place--perfect for a glass of wine and watching people go by. At any rate, I can't wait to go back!

Now I am back at class, looking forward to my trip to Roma this weekend. I'll keep you updated, and be sure to check out the photos that I've included!

Ciao!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



7th July 2005

Im so jealous, I was there this time last year!! Enjoy every minute of it and I have to agree with kelli, go to Cinque Terre, its amazing there. I actually ran into Kelli there last year!! I was with Kris Weese and some other OU people and we had a little reunion. Its beautiful there though!! Love the journal too!! Have hun!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb