Le Grande Tours


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Vierzon
March 12th 2006
Published: March 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm actually not in Tours at the moment, but in a small town called Vierzon. Alex took me to her parents' house in the countryside where I am being pampered, wined and dined with stinky cheese, foie gras and many-a-stick of crusty bread.

The trip out of Paris proved to be another interesting escapade. At the last minute, on a suggestion given to me be my CouchSurfing host, I decided to try and hitchhike! Again! After what happened last time!! ...hmm... He told me it shouldn't be a problem, and that it was fairly easy to get out of Paris from an on-ramp called Porte de Orleans. His friend had differing opinions, however and told me it would be nearly impossible.

It turned out to be a combination of the two.

After waiting three hours in the choking fumes of the Paris ring-road, some nasty black clouds had accumulated over my head and I was about to give up and go to the train station, when a small girl poked her head out of a car and said something in French, which I imagine translated to 'do you want a lift?'. As usual, I wasn't ready for a lift (you never are when hitchhiking... it's always a strange feeling of resignation to the fact that you're not actually going to get a lift and that you are standing there in vain!) so I kind of piled into her car upside down with my bag going everywhere and my soggy cardboard sign flapping in her face. She was very young and didn't speak much English, but I deduced that she was headed for Orleans, which is about half way to Tours, but she had to stop and do some things on the way. Anything was fine for me after three wretched hours! She was very nice, even though our conversation was limited and told me that it was her first time driving in Paris- something that became apparent later when she announced that we were lost! When we found the way again, she then took me to meet her grandmother, who made me lunch and said many things, all of which I couldn't understand! All I could do was keep repeating "Merci! Merci! C'est Bon! C'est Bon!"

After that, I was then taken on a tour around the countryside, involving a visit to her brother's school, coffee at a (i'm assuming her!) chateau in the forest and finally the stop in Orlean. By then it was getting dark, and I considered continuing to hitchhike, but instead copped out and bought a train ticket (which was more or less the same price as one from Paris!!). C'est la vie! Claire (for that was her name) was very kind though, and said that if I had any problem to give her a call in Orlean and she would help me out!

I've since been living in Tours at my first couch-to-surf's house. They are an awesome share-house of 5 crazies (like me!) but I've ended up staying at Alex's both nights instead! I go to my second couch tonight, when we get back from Vierzon, and I will try to make more of an appearance there than I did at the other place!

Ah! I've been told that more food is available to be eaten! So I will leave it at that!
Au Revoir!

Advertisement



12th March 2006

I AM GLAD YOUR STILL UP TO UR SHANANIGANS! AT LEAST THIS TIME THERE WAS NO MAJOR INJURY! UN BESITO

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0767s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb