Thom Visits!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Tours
March 16th 2010
Published: March 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The time in Tours between Normandy and heading off to Berlin went by quickly, but there were a few highlights.

The weather turned nice again! It was bring and sunny and I felt like I would never need to look at my winter clothes again. I kind of realized that when I packed to come here I was thinking more about the winter and less about the spring...so I might have to go shopping and buy a few things because I only have about 4 short sleeved shirts here. Whoops.

This week was Bucknell's spring break and my friend Thom from school did a little Eurotrip! He visited his friend from home in Switzerland, then went to see his cousin in Ireland, and was able to squeeze in a day between the two visiting me in Tours! Last Tuesday after IR I went and met Thom at the Gare--it was like having a little piece of Bucknell come and visit me! It was great to see him and get filled in a bit on the happenings of Lewisburg. Although overall I'm still very very glad that I'm abroad this semester and taking a little break from Bucknell. Slash reality. I walked him around Tours a bit--the few landmarks that are important here--the Loire, the Cathedral, Place Plume. We had crepes for dinner at a crepe restaurant at Place Plume and the "carafe d'eau" (the water pitcher) they brought to our table held about 3 thimbles worth of water so we had to keep asking for more and still left thirsty. Afterward we headed to The Pale, the Irish pub/bar that we BEFers go to frequently because the bartenders speak English. The place was all decorated for St Patty's day, so that was cute. Some of the other BEFers met us there and we hung out and then made it back home by our curfew that my host family gave us (11pm--kind of funny). I thought it would be too early but we were both actually pretty tired. Thom had to leave the next morning early, but it was fun to have him in Tours for a night!

I'm starting to miss certain things about Bucknell and I'm looking forward to being back there in August, but the nice weather in Tours makes it hard to want to be anywhere but here!

Advertisement



29th March 2010

"Slash reality". I wish there was a like button.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb