Did you hear that??


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Tours
January 9th 2010
Published: January 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This morning I woke up at 3 am and couldn’t get back to sleep, and I had no idea when my family gets up in general, but I didn’t want them to be up and doing things and me secluding myself in my room. I decided that 8 would probably be a good time to go downstairs with a book and then I could wait in the living room or dining room reading. So I quietly opened my door and started down the staircase. However, quietly is NOT an adjective that can be used with this particular set of stairs. With each step I felt like I was waking up the dead, so I tried to walk slower, but that just made the noises last longer. I finally got down to the second floor—which is where M et Mme and Marguerite sleep. I probably took a full minute closing the door to the staircase so that I would be quiet, although I had most likely already woken them up. Also, it was really really dark. BUT I knew that the other staircase was straight ahead of me, so I started down that on that one which was slightly quieter (it was still probably heard three houses away, but better than the creeks you guys probably heard back in the US from the first staircase). However, when I reached the bottom I could see literally nothing, so I was just feeling with my feet to see if there were more steps or if I had reached to bottom (keep in mind I have a book tucked under my arm and am holding a water glass, while holding onto the banister with the other hand). When I finally reached the bottom, I started feeling along the wall for a light switch. Then I realized I wasn’t actually at the bottom. Then I went down two more stairs and started feeling around for a light switch again. After probably a minute, I found one! I flipped it, and the NOTHING happened. Of course I find the light switch that doesn’t actually turn on a light. I began walking forward, attempting to look for another, but ended up abandoning ship and deciding that I should just go back to my room for another hour or so. I started my ascent but when I reached the second floor again, Mme had peeped her head out of her door and began speaking to me in French, asking if everything was ok, or I wanted breakfast, etc. I apologized and assured her that everything was fine, and I would wait for them. She told me they would probably get up in an hour.

Whoops.

Luckily in an hour all was forgiven and she had actually assumed that I was unable to find the light switch. Probably a good thing that they’ve hosted lots of students before me. Breakfast was bread with jam and honey and some tea—it was delicious and I felt very French. My host mom left while I was eating to take a train to Paris and visit her dad in for the weekend, which is also where Marie (the 22 year old daughter) lives, and also to visit Clare (the 10 year old) who is at boarding school in Northern France for the year and goes to visit her grandpa on the weekends. (I think my host mom does this every weekend.)

The rest of the day was pretty low key—some card games with the girls, lots of potatoes for lunch, a 5 hour nap from 3-8 (and my host dad had a friend come and install WiFi on my computer for me!) Dinner with more potatoes and some sort of carrot soup I think, cheese and fruits for dessert YUM 

Tomorrow I’ll meet up with my fellow Bucknellians to take a Tour of Tours!


Advertisement



11th January 2010

glad you've arrived safely
Valerie, i enjoyed reading your note. It sounds like you are going to have a wonderful semester in France. Much love, Peggy
11th January 2010

Sleep later!
What an adventure! I can just imagine those creaky stairs and I can absolutely "see" you feeling around with your feet to know if there are more stairs. Luckily you made it down and back up again without breaking your neck! Sounds like they are feeding you well.

Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb