Azay-le-Rideau


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Tours
January 27th 2008
Published: February 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Inside Azay le RideauInside Azay le RideauInside Azay le Rideau

The staircase is the centre piece of the château, it has peoples portraits carved into the stone!
I visited Azay-le-Rideau with my first host family in late January. It was a beautiful day and there was lots of sun...just what I needed! The château of Azay-le-Rideau was built from 1518 to 1527, it is one of the earliest French Renaissance châteaux. It is absolutely magnificent and I loved searching through the different rooms and looking at different portraits of numerous royals and nobles.

There were some amazing tapestries and Renaissance era furniture pieces throughout the château that was great to look at. It was really beautiful walking around the château as well. I has a lake at the back of it and I could see the reflection of the castle perfectly in it. It was picture perfect!

I felt like a little girl running around looking at the château from all the different aspects and taking photos where I could. It was so beautiful, it was hard to take it all in at once!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Inside Azay le RideauInside Azay le Rideau
Inside Azay le Rideau

That is the staircase...if you look closely you can see the portraits!
Azay le RideauAzay le Rideau
Azay le Rideau

One of the staircases...
Inside Azay le RideauInside Azay le Rideau
Inside Azay le Rideau

The fireplaces were absolutely enormous. I had to get a picture near one...
Inside Azay le RideauInside Azay le Rideau
Inside Azay le Rideau

Beautiful stain glass windows were throughout the entire château
Azay le RideauAzay le Rideau
Azay le Rideau

One outside angle
Inside Azay le RideauInside Azay le Rideau
Inside Azay le Rideau

Another.... It is so spectacular!
Inside Azay le RideauInside Azay le Rideau
Inside Azay le Rideau

This is my host Mum, Maryse, and I, outside the château
Inside Azay le RideauInside Azay le Rideau
Inside Azay le Rideau

My host parents, Eric and Maryse, outside. This is the château in full with the reflection in the lake
Azay le RideauAzay le Rideau
Azay le Rideau

This sums it up I think! I couldnt remember which way round this was supposed to go
Azay le RideauAzay le Rideau
Azay le Rideau

It is such a beautiful château, it is just as magnificent inside as it is out
Azay le RideauAzay le Rideau
Azay le Rideau

Me outside at the end of our visit


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb