Christmas is coming!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Dordogne
December 13th 2007
Published: December 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Christmas TreeChristmas TreeChristmas Tree

a little Charile Brown-looking...but at least the decorations are pretty!
It’s been a pretty uneventful week, as I promised.

Tuesday we chopped down our poor little pathetic tree. It really is sad…it’s missing branches for about the top 2 feet of it. Will says it gives it character, so we’ll just go with that. We found a store with lots of Christmas decorations and we picked out our tinsel and beads…Will picked blue, I picked purple and we decided to throw in some silver too! We also bought some lights for around the mantle and we looked for Christmas stockings but they’re nowhere to be found. We spent the evening decorating our tree and then enjoyed beef stew that had been simmering on the wood burner all day…delicious!

Yesterday I wasn’t feeling well so we literally stayed in all day and watched movies…

Then today I woke up and was feeling better so we headed to a nearby town for some lunch and a tour around the Maison de la Porcelain…if you know porcelain, you know Limoges, France is known for it. This place was insanity. We saw a sign post that said they have over 100,000 pieces and I believe it. I think Will almost had an
me & the treeme & the treeme & the tree

I was excited...this was the first year I had real input over what goes on the tree! (sorry mom, decorations I made when I was 5 just don't count...)
anxiety attack…he was sure he’d turn a corner too fast and run right into a stack of plates that cost 50 Euros each. If money were no object I would have my entire house be porcelain, it was truly that beautiful. I did purchase a plate with a fun, young design on it…I seem to have myself a little collection of plates from places like Morocco, so I figured I may as well add to it, right? As I write, Will is finishing up dinner (roast chicken with the works!) and then I’m sure we’ll watch a movie by the fire tonight.

Not much else has been going on. I’ve become frustrated with the Master’s program I start in two weeks…they have misplaced my transcript and without it I’m not officially accepted into the program…fantastic. At least they let me know they lost it so I can replace it. I’m just trying to stay optimistic about all of this, although it does seem to be in shambles at the moment. I reckon it’s because the program is still new and not that they don’t care, but it’s still frustrating. I just need to remind myself nothing can be as
Will hanging lightsWill hanging lightsWill hanging lights

notice our dinner on the fire! yum!
bad as UU was last year!

I’ll wrap this up, it’s nearly dinner time! Hope everyone has a great weekend & send some of that snow this way…I haven’t seen snow in two years!! xo



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

random goose running down the roadrandom goose running down the road
random goose running down the road

welcome to the south of France...


19th December 2007

Happy Holidays
Hi Megan, Your tree is beautiful ... I love the colors! Today is my last day at work until January 2! Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! Love you! :)

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0783s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb