Le Gerrat


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bordeaux
August 31st 2006
Published: September 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I may not have the spelling right: this is an old house that Mark and Trish Tyler, the mom/dad of my famille d’acceuil, have recently bought and are rebuilding. I don’t know exactly how old it is, something like 200 or so years old (probably older). Mark and his crew have totally gutted the place, and are now installing pipes and preparing the floor for the concrete foundation that will be laid in the coming weeks. I spent the last three days sanding the wooden floors in one of the upstairs rooms; they are the original wood from the original construction of the house.



Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

La GiradeLa Girade
La Girade

This is an upstairs room, after 3 days of sanding. Some parts still had remnants of a lanoleum floor; why would anybody cover up nice wood with lanoleum?


27th September 2007

Good grief, Is this "la Girade" near St Foy le Grande ? I stayed here for a couple of weeks in 1981. Looks like you've changed it a bit.
29th September 2007

yep
Mr. Tim, Interesting. You stayed at La Girade in 1981? So you must have known the previous owners. This certainly is the La Girade you are thinking of.........I would love to hear more about your stay, how you knew those people.
16th October 2007

I was 16 at the time. The house belonged to my friends Aunt - I can't remember her full name but her first name was Lotte. She was fairly old then and had lived there since the end of the war... Staying with her was a younger couple, again I don't remember their names but she was Spanish and they had a young baby. We stayed in the room opposite the barn you can see in the photo. I do have photos, but it will take me some time to find them and scan.... I'll tey and remember some more......

Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 16; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb