Back In Bordeaux


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bordeaux
April 24th 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Angela and SharonAngela and SharonAngela and Sharon

I'll confess..there was lots of kissing going on this week. :)
After the death of my friend Chris, I wasn't sure if I wanted to leave Canada and go back to Europe. However, after a beautifully and discreetly waged campaign by my mom, I found myself on my way back to Europe. Fortunately, my return was just in time for me to make it to the imfamous "Bordeaux Birthday Bash".

My couchsurfing friend Angela, who had previously saved my life, was celebrating her birthday and couchsurfers from far and wide were making their way to Bordeaux to worship at her altar. And worship we did.

The Bordeaux Birthday Bash was supposed to be for two days. It lasted for six. After all meeting up in the center of Bordeaux a connection of love and friendship immediately united us a group. As the days wore on we would just grow in numbers. We celebrated over pints in pubs and mohitos on dance floors. I bought a video camera and began filming the whole thing.

The highlight of the week was definitely when we discovered James and Steph's house. Several of us couchsurfers moved in and simply wouldn't leave because it was so cool. James and Steph had a patio out
james and Stephanjames and Stephanjames and Stephan

James the super host and Stephan, Lord Byron
back and some of our most musical guests brought out their guitars and harmonicas and the backyard concerts had begun.

Guillaume, from Canada, and John from the United States, played for hours on end as the sunlight streamed through the trees and the smells from the bakery next door floated around us. We played inappropriate games with a purple dildo (trying to think of other things that it could be) and spent the days getting pleasantly drunk.

While I was there I shared a bottom bunk bed (which I blatantly stole) with John, who, was a perfect gentleman (drat!) while Stephan, our poet laureate, snored away above us.

While I was in Bordeaux a French man asked me to marry him. Unfortunately the chemistry wasn't right and my thoughts kept straying to a certain musician but it is always nice to be asked. The Frenchman took me on a merry-go-round and to a beautiful park but the heart does whatever it wants and we are simply victims of its whimsy.

However, I didn't simply spend all my time pursuing wine and amour, I did get out and see the city a bit and even did a
ChristopheChristopheChristophe

Did I mention that they smoke in France?
tour of a winery, meeting a very cool Australian couple who would later meet up with the Bordeaux CS gang at an English pub.

Finally as the days wore down, our little group would begin to disperse and go our separate ways. I was one of the last ones to go and it was really difficult to say goodbye to these people that I had grown to love in just a couple of days.

But the glittering promise of Spain was beckoning, so after missing my first train, I hoped aboard the next one and made my way to Spain, and the arms of my new Barcelonian Family.

(Next extry coming soon!!)




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My musclesMy muscles
My muscles

Playing games. Here we are seeing how many different things Sharon's bra could be.
The girlsThe girls
The girls

Angela, Sharon and I
drinkingdrinking
drinking

Drinking iced wine on the wine tour. Yummy!
sightseeingsightseeing
sightseeing

See, I really did go sightseeing!
JohnJohn
John

My bedmate and the most rockin' guy.
Roberto and IRoberto and I
Roberto and I

Ah, The Italian Philosopher and I. My lifelong friend and all around handsome man, Roberto.


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb