10days in Frogland


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bordeaux
August 4th 2005
Published: August 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

French guy watering the plantsFrench guy watering the plantsFrench guy watering the plants

I got off the train in a little town thinking I was still on the Spanish side of the border, went to ask a lady in a shop for some cardboard and a pen to make me a hitch-hiking sign, and got greeted with my first "Bonjour!". Doh!
I got intouch with my mate Olivier who I met in Bolivia last year and it turned out he was now living in a little surf town down the south of France so thought it'd be rude not to go up and visit him while I was close... well turned out it wasn't as close as I thought, but I made it there after a little mission involving a train, some desperate sign language and half a dozen friendly people who picked me up while I was hitch-hiking in the sweltering heat. France is cool, realy frustrating not being able to speak the language and having that ignorant feeling all over again(the list of things-to-do never ends), but it was awesome hanging out with Olivier and meeting all his friends and all their friends and playing Beach vollyball and Surfing and partying like they do in Biscarrose! They also have really good bread here, and Olivier owns a Sandwhich shop so I was eating really well all the time - thanks Olivier!!!!! Biscarrose is right next to Bordauex too which just happens to be the wine-making capital of France so I got to sample, no, induldge in a lot of differant
SlivieSlivieSlivie

I stopped this lady to ask how to get to the highway to Bordauex, and she finished the street she was on and took me there herself! merci Silvie!!!
types of goooood wine. All over for now though, just arrived back in Barcelona and will meet up with Tim, Tim and Sam tomorrow or the next day and we're off to the south of Spain in a rented car. can't wait!


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

coming into Biscarrosecoming into Biscarrose
coming into Biscarrose

I couldn't help but feel like I was driving into some little beach town back home on the Corromandel as i entered Biscarrose, love those pine trees!
Me and Olivier!!!Me and Olivier!!!
Me and Olivier!!!

last timne I had a beer with him was at the bar he found him working in on a beach in Equador!
Kamala Bar - EcuadorKamala Bar - Ecuador
Kamala Bar - Ecuador

Me, Olivier and Sandra(his girlfriend) last year in Ecuador
me dishing out flyers for Oli's shopme dishing out flyers for Oli's shop
me dishing out flyers for Oli's shop

this was pretty funny because I can't speak a word of French and they were all asking me questions to which I had to answer "oi oi..." and pointing down the hill
Pascal getting his first ever tattooPascal getting his first ever tattoo
Pascal getting his first ever tattoo

Atauo here is a pretty famous Tattoo artisit from Tahiti that comes here to to work when it's winter back home. real cool guy
beach vollyball daybeach vollyball day
beach vollyball day

one day me and Olivier entered the local comp and got our ass's kicked! heaps of fun though, and i met heaps of cool people so got to play most afternoons from then till I left


5th August 2005

Hi from Auckland
Hi Russ I have just spent the last 30 mins catching up on your blog. So proud of you! It will be a blast to see you again and to hear more of your stories when you get home - one day. I think you were born to travel! Lots of love from your 'fav' aunt - F xx
16th August 2005

Saludos de Francia
It was a really great week we've spent together. After few days in Biscarosse, almost every guys (and more girls of course...) don't stop talking about this tall cool guy coming from New Zealand. And they will talk about you for a long time again. I'm really glad that you choose my place during this time and hope to see you again in Switzerland or somewhere else... A bientot Russell.
16th August 2005

Hello there, I love reading and seeing your blogs, go for it, it brings back many memories - the more things change ....... ( ask your froggy friends for the rest of the adage), Hi to Sam and Tim too. Love the Browns.
4th September 2005

Hi Russ ! I think it's : "The More Things Change ... The more they stay the same".please to have regularly some news about your life. enjoy ! please to meet you again.
23rd October 2005

Petit coucou de France...
Hi Russ, Yes we had good time in biscarrosse!!!!!We all miss you...Hopefully all these pics make me remember how good you were at volley ball...lol Take Care Sab

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb