Back to France, Again


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bordeaux
July 15th 2005
Published: July 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dinner in the SquareDinner in the SquareDinner in the Square

Place du Parlement isn't a bad place to sit down for dinner.
Despite having spent five days there, I was reluctant to leave San Sebastian. The place just sucks you in and tries very convincingly to keep you there. On the bright side, San Sebastian is a day stop on the Busabout route. Translation: departure time is 3:30pm instead of 8am. Hell Yes.

I didn't realize just how close to the French border San Sebastian is, and we had crossed over less than 30 minutes after departure. The whole trip was about four hours, with a couple of episodes of ER to entertain us along the way. Amazingly, I'm the only one staying in Bordeaux! I'm talking out of a bus of 40. I though I was hallucinating when the accomodation bookings form went around and "1 Day" was marked across the board. How can everyone else just be overnighting here? Does no one else appreciate good wine?

I haven't seen much of Bordeaux so far, although most of what I have seen (the pedestrian-only old quarter) is very nice and shopping-rich. I continued my tradition of liberal culinary spending and had dinner at Le Bistro D'Edouard, a mid-level restaurant in Place de Parlement. The salad was interesting, having bits of beef and half a quail. The main course I chose was Magret de Canard (breast of duck). Not the best I've ever had, but not too shabby. The whole 3 course meal came to 14 euros, which I considered quite a steal. Bordeaux seems to be reasonably priced as a whole. Hotel Studio, where I'm staying, isn't winning any awards for style of spaciousness (today was the first time I've had to sit down on a toilet sideways), but it's cheap. A double room is costing me 23 euros a night. The single room was only 18 euros, but had windows that didn't open. I had no interest in empathizing with a roast pig again.

I only have 2 full days here, so I think I'll head out to the neighboring Chateaux's immediately tomorrow. It's a good thing accomodation's cheap: I'll be spending a good deal on wine. I just have to figure out how to get it all back to Canada.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb