Bonjour Bordeaux!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bordeaux
June 3rd 2005
Published: June 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dune du PilatDune du PilatDune du Pilat

Arcachon, France
Bonjour! I am now in Virginie's apartment, and so far I'm having a blast! When I got here on Tuesday (31st of May), I had a little trouble at first finding her in the train station. It was bigger than I thought! So I bought a phone card and gave Virginie a ring on her cell phone, and eventually we found one another. We kissed cheeks in the typical French way (I've done a lot of cheek-kissing the last couple days) and she then took me to her apartment. And so far it's just been tons of fun!

First, she drove me around Bordeaux-- what a beautiful and charming city! It's right on the river, and the architecture is great! That night, she made me dinner and we watched Minority Report in French. The following morning, we had toast and fresh-squeezed orange juice for breakfast before going out for another adventure. We went to a place called Arcachon and climbed a giant sand dune before going down to a bay. It was gorgeous and sunny and wonderful. We sat by the waterside for awhile before climbing back to the land-side of the dune. We had sandwiches and paninis for lunch
Virginie at the beach!Virginie at the beach!Virginie at the beach!

Arcachon, France
with crepes and gaufres (waffles) for dessert. Mmmmm-- tasty! Then, she drove me around the area and we went on a boat ride through the bay. After that, we went to her cousin's house and ate dinner there.

Yesterday, we woke up fairly late (we were really tired from the day before), and then watched Dirty Dancing (English, with French subtitles). We then biked around the city, she drove me out to see some vineyards, and we ate dinner at her parents' house-- it was great!

Well, I'll write more with more details later, but I'm going out on the town now. Wish me luck!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Dune du PilatDune du Pilat
Dune du Pilat

Virginie and I on the Dune du Pilat, Arcachon, France


Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb