WHY NOT!!!


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
September 21st 2011
Published: October 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After a goodbye from Mom and Dad I was off through US customs, but first security!!! I forgot how ruthless they where, with more more people manning the security machines and gadgets than there where people going through I listened to the signs and got caught. Going through the medal detectors they tell you can take your wallet with you, that is unless you have a credit card bottle opener wedged in with all the notes oups!!! I got BEEPED!!! First I took out my wallet just having realized what I had done, I told the security guy where it was so he took it out had a peak put it aside, and continued with a full body scan with the mobile metal detector. After which I was given and ultimatum, step into the machine for a quick scan or a full body pat down, as tempting as it was I went for the machine. Having reached the gate I looked up and it was delayed for an hour. So close to getting away!!!! After that the trip through Boston and Iceland where boringly smooth.

Arriving in Helsinki I quickly went to finair to see if I could get a trip up to Lapland to see Yochi (an awesome friend I met Marlow a few years back) up in Lapland. It turns out that I had already booked my flight to Stockholm leaving 10 min before the one available returning flight from Kittila. Next time Yoch. I got on the finair buss to the main train station towards the city center. As we got closer to the station it started to rain, but I had been sitting for nearly 13h so I decided to walk to the hostel. Attaching the head phones ( my expensive ones decided to brake at the connecter All I can say about my walk is thank god for the itouch 8>. I had downloaded an offline map and it saved my bacon, the paper one I had printed out didn’t last long. I looked up the train station, then gaged where I was and had no problem finding the place.
Upon arrival, I got out of the long travel stench, put the wet shoes back on because hey it was only being 2:30 local time (7:30am Ottawa) I decided to walk around and look for a sim card. One that I could use throughout my trip would be nice. OUPS!!! It seams the only place you can get a sim card is the equivalent of a corner store back home. The women knew what I wanted so sold me it without much explanation and I thought great!!! Upon leaving the store I found that all the info to start it up was in Finish, and then after getting help, found that my phone specs don’t add up to the quality of the networks over here so 16 euro seams to have gone down the tube…. NOT HAPPY! I must now look for a cheep unlocked phone.

At 7:30 I decided to head back to the hostel for dinner and hopefully some sleep. And wow!!!! Yes just fish and chips not the most healthy of things to have but hey I’ll go pick stuff up on my walk tomorrow. Back to the presentation. Nice freshly battered fish and nice fries, all hot from the fryer on the side, thin sliced lemon (no seeds) decoratively placed on some pea sprouts, and beside that some tasty Finish tartar sauce. The idea that you eat everything on the plate (yes you cut little parts of the lemon rind and all) add that with some tartar, fish and a piece of greens and boom. Oh did I mention this was in the hostel’s restaurant for 7euro, pretty fair if you ask me.
Now after an almost waterfall like shower I’m ready for bed tomorrow I turn into a picture taking tourist. This city is mine!!!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb