Finland nice


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
September 13th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hugs Psychiatric ClinicHugs Psychiatric ClinicHugs Psychiatric Clinic

The girls weren't here, but this is an interesting name (if you can read it).
The Finns are nice. On my first trip through the Helskinki city center, I was approached by three schoolgirls. They were smiling and carrying cardboard signs that read “hugs free.” So each in her turn hugged me. I giggled and felt embarrassed, but it was a nice gesture. I suspect it was part of a school project of some sort but even so, it was indicative to me of the Finns. They are ever helpful to strangers. More evidence: no one here locks up their bikes. To someone who had two bikes stolen in Lincoln Nebraska (one cut from its chain outside my apartment while I ate lunch inside, the other brazenly taken after an apartment break-in) this is madness. But it must be that bicycle theives do not exist here. Either that or Finnish niceness extends even to thieves. This explains why the Finns have never had an empire. Can you imagine Otto von Bismarck or Henry Kissenger offering free hugs. No, it's strictly iron and blood for empires. So instead of over lording over unfortunate strangers, the Finns been variously brutalized by and incorporated into other empires, notably the Russian and the Swedish.

There is, of course, the
A Helsinki gardenA Helsinki gardenA Helsinki garden

Lots of these around. Helsinki is a pleasant city
flip side to Finnsih nice. Not meanness or rudeness, but some of the expressions on the faces of these Finns -- right out of "Cries and Whispers." It’s a knowing look, not a desparate one, that communicates something like, “The world is empty. I am empty, and I suspect that you too are empty.” There must be an awful lot of sighing here. There was this guy at the Solvalla who wore this look. From what I could tell, he spent his days staring into walls and contemplating futility. Perhaps all that niceness produces soul crushing ennui or maybe its the other way around.

The niceness does not always make into the international environment of the youth hostel. In that song I mentioned in a previous entry, "Nineteen in Naples, Richman sings about the terror he felt after checking into his Pension. There, right in front of the young and insecure traveler sat a group of Italian guys, in underwear, playing cards. Surely an intimidating sight for any modest American. So I expected, at least, that I would have to sacrifice some of my privacy at Stadion youth hostel. I was wrong. The commons room was silent, but it was not empty. Most had out laptops. Some had in earphones. Lots of Facebooking, probably some travel blogging. I can imagine it: “I’m in Helsinki - it’s crazy.”

Not that I tried to change anything and make the world a little smaller through some small talk, though I did introduce myself to one Italian - from Milan and discuss the relative merits of the American educational system vis-a-vis its British counterpart with a guy from Hong Kong. But every time I've been in that room, my laptop has come out.

The sleeping rooms, however, resound with all together different racket: snoring. Today’s youth hostelers are terrific snorers, and with twelve beds to a room (sometimes more), they can really get after it. In my room, two guys seemed to work in tandem, creating baritone night music, occasionally punctuated by a well-placed fart. To my surprise, when I shut off my reading light, I fell asleep immediately, and probably joined the fun.



Advertisement



13th September 2008

You would definitely make a better writer than I woud. I am serious.
13th September 2008

backpack
Seeing it I can only hope that you roll it more than you carry it on your back.
14th September 2008

Thank God for Finland nice, and the long waits.
15th September 2008

How I carry things
I've often thought what you might say if you could see me walking around with that giant backpack on my back. I've rolled it for a total of once. It was easier, but not my style (too slow!)
15th September 2008

Yes

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 8; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb