The Baltics to the Balkans, and then some.


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
August 8th 2005
Published: August 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Helsinki to Istanbul

This is just one possible plan for the trip. Things could change, depending on getting visas for countries further east (Ukraine would be nice!) and how much time we have left when we get to the balkans - I'd love to make it to Albania!

Rides: 1 plane, 1 bus, 1 ferry

Country count: 33+2!

Today I have been in three different countries. I started in England - a night on the floor of Stansted airport to prepare me for the trials and privations of budget travelling to come, and then a way-too-early flight to Tallinn, Estonia, where I caught the first ferry I could to Helsinki in Finland.

Kate met me at the ferry terminal, and took me to the hostel, where I promptly collapsed from exhaustion. I think this travelling thing will take a few days to get used to!

And so it's begun. Our mad plan to travel from Helsinki to Istanbul, hitch-hiking and camping our way through at least 11 countries in 6 weeks. Have a look at the planned route of travel on the map I've added.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb