Going to the zoo... how about you?


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
March 1st 2007
Published: March 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone... This note's going to be short because I have to get up early in the morning to fly to Dublin. I'll spend the night there at Richard's house and the two of us will leave the next morning for Portugal!

School has been very busy. I took a few hours last weekend to go to the Korkeasaari zoo and the Ateneum art museum. Other than that I have been working at school.

The Zoo was really nice. It's on an island outside Helsinki and looks more like a farm than a zoo. It has all the same animals as regular zoos, but it was kind of wierd to see the lions and tigers and camels out in the snow. This zoo is also the location of the lookout tower built by the Wood Studio at my school last year.

I put in some pictures of work we're doing at school. It's fun and stressful to see other people working on my design. The work has been divided into groups. My group is working at designing the floor plan. Other groups are researching and testing joints, materials, site, and roof. When we are back from Green Week we will start to do more large scale testing and models.

Ok, gotta get to bed now... I will write a long entry when I'm back from Portugal! Happy March!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Lookout Tower at KorkeasaariLookout Tower at Korkeasaari
Lookout Tower at Korkeasaari

Built by the wood studio at TKK last year.
Lookout Tower at Korkeasaari IILookout Tower at Korkeasaari II
Lookout Tower at Korkeasaari II

Built by the wood studio at TKK last year.
Chinese New YearChinese New Year
Chinese New Year

Making dumplings for the party.
Carnivale Party at the 'Italian Factory'Carnivale Party at the 'Italian Factory'
Carnivale Party at the 'Italian Factory'

Everybody decorate yourselves!
Carnivale Masquerade Party at the 'Italian Factory' IVCarnivale Masquerade Party at the 'Italian Factory' IV
Carnivale Masquerade Party at the 'Italian Factory' IV

I made this mask out of wood from my model... I think it turned out pretty good!
Study ModelStudy Model
Study Model

Olle (Sweden) working on floor plan tests.


7th March 2007

Party Time?
Hey! The clock says 12:20 at the party. How late were you up? Are you supposed to be having all that fun?
8th March 2007

I need your email addy
Hi Jessie! Congrats on having your pavilion built -- we were very impressed. Especially Bob, who tells everyone he knows. I have pix of your amazing father's basement operation, painted yet! I can't attach to this message, so pls send your regular email addr so I can send them on. Shjould have done it last week, but too busy. Your photos are wonderful. Keep blogging them to us! SYS Love, Ang

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb