Rotary Christmas Party and Christmas Sauna!


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Southwest Finland » Naantali
December 19th 2007
Published: December 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mr. Prez and the Priest!Mr. Prez and the Priest!Mr. Prez and the Priest!

after a few too many glasses of glogi!!!!
So tonight was the Rotary Joulu Bailut! Eija picked me up at 5:50 and we went to the Old Church. There we had an evening mass for both Rotary clubs in Naantali. My principal, Leena Laakso and her boy friend Seppo Pukonen (my math teacher) sat next to us. Leena is Sylvia's (Canadian) Rotary counslor. We sang Christmas songs and listened a trumpet and piano performance. There was a short prayer, then my Rotary club members left and we all walked to the Kalatrappi Restaurant. They had set up a HUGE HUGE HUGE presentation of Finnish Christmas foods...which includes: Silli, silli, potatoes, and MORE Silli...which in finnish is....raw herring...FISH!!!! So of course being me, I decided to try a couple differnt kinds...which lead to 25 different kinds as more and more rotary members told me what kind was their favorite and added it to my plate. I swear. I will NEVER eat pickled, smoked, salted, dried, baked, breaded, cold smoked, smokey smoked, basted, peppered, ....and the list goes on....ever again. Oh but I have to say WHAT a night. After making a speech, drinking an entire pitcher of water, and recieving many thanks and a Marimekko Christmas present, I walked home
Rotary TableRotary TableRotary Table

a group of rotarians!
and on the way I talked to mommy!!! It was beyond fabulous speaking to her!! When I got home I grabbed my bathrobe and hurried over to the Ahti's for Christmas sauna!!! I saunaed with Leena, Emma, Heini (whose FINALLY home from France!), and Marru. We ate makkara and reindeer, and drank glogi and apple juice! It was a TON of fun seeing the Ahti's before they go to Sanijoki to spend the holidays with Leena's mother. It was a fantastic evening!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Laadikko!Laadikko!
Laadikko!

many many boxes...potatoe. carrot. liver!!!!!
Dessert!Dessert!
Dessert!

no siili here!! few!
SILLI!!SILLI!!
SILLI!!

this is only showing half of what was there...yes EVERY container is herring!
funny Mr. Presidentfunny Mr. President
funny Mr. President

haha my president shaking hands with me, and Ossi, my Youth Exchange Officer giving me my christmas present!
Matti, our Secretary! Matti, our Secretary!
Matti, our Secretary!

he is a funny guy. i asked him if he could set up a tour on one of those Carribean cruises for me so i could test the wave pool surfing! haha they build them in Turku!
SO....this is Me...HAHAHAHSO....this is Me...HAHAHAH
SO....this is Me...HAHAHAH

whilst im making a speech! :) what the HECK am i doing?


Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1149s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb