My New Host Family


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Southwest Finland » Naantali
October 13th 2007
Published: October 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm sure many people are wondering why I am changing host families so soon, and I would like to clear some things up. I LOVED my first host family SO much. They were seriously wonderful people that taught me so much. I am not moving because we had a problem. I am moving so soon because I love living in Old Naantali. Old Naantali is the part of Naantlai near the harbor, with the beautiful old houses, near the city center and my favorite dock. My next family after the Ahti's (Leena and Erkki) was sapposed to be in a part of Naantali called Taimo, more of a residential area away from the city center. Marru, Leena's best friend, our neighbor, and Henkka's mother met me my first day in Naantali. We had crab night over at their house and she decided she enjoyed my company and would love to host me for two months while her daughter Heini is studying in France. Heini left for France on Sunday the 9th and she is planning on returning to Naantali in mid December. The Ahti's (Leena and Erkki) were planning on hosting me for 4 months total, so after Heini comes home
Marru and Me!Marru and Me!Marru and Me!

she's great!
I will move BACK in with the Ahti's and stay there for two more months!!! This extends my stay in Old Naantali from 4 months to 6. Reason number 2: at home in New Mexico I am SOOO used to having Seany around so it will be nice having Henkka as a host brother. Yes, so now, on with my new host family. They are the Ailio's, Marru, Heini (In France) and Henri (aka Henkka). They live RIGHT next door to the Ahti's and I am very good friends with them. I moved into Heini's room on Wednesday. Marru is an optometrist in Turku and Naantali, and she is a very fashionable woman. She loves her many boots, long black driving gloves, and her stylish capes. She is a very happy woman and always gives me hugs. She doesn't enjoy cooking much, but she always wakes up to cook us fabulous breakfasts! Henkka is my host brother, and he is very clever with his jokes, he makes me laugh a lot. He is seventeen years old and we are in the same grade at Lukio. We had English class together during the last 6 week period but now we only
New Host HouseNew Host HouseNew Host House

and Heini's car
have a common free period on Mondays. He is a HUGE Formula 1 fan, and he also follows Ice Hockey and Football (soccer). He is very fluent in English, but he teachs me a lot of Finnish! My new address is Torikatu 1A, but please, send any package or letter to my old address (Torikatu 1B) because it is just next door so we are not going to fill out all the paperwork at the post office and change my address. My new house's style is almost the opposite of Leena and Erkki's, (they LOVE antiques), and this house is VERY modern, from bamboo walls and heated floors, to colorful, art deco lights. It is rather beautiful. My room is upstairs again (I think all childrens bedrooms are upstairs in Finland haha) and there is also a big, den like room, with the computer and TV, Henkka's room, and MY bathroom. There is also a piano down stairs in the living room, and a very modern sauna, with lounging wooden seats, twinkle lights, and a mirror. I am sure I will have a lot of fun living here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

garage! garage!
garage!

and Heini's yellow bug!
mopomopo
mopo

yeah. my ride to school. somedays. dont worry rotary. i dont drive.
inside the back doorinside the back door
inside the back door

where we leave our coats and boots!
kitchenkitchen
kitchen

modern
Piano Piano
Piano

in the living room!
UpstairsUpstairs
Upstairs

bathroom and front door are on the right, the door to the kitchen is under the stairs on the left, and the door to marru's bedroom is straight ahead.
Ailio Family TreeAilio Family Tree
Ailio Family Tree

on the wall near the stairs. its awesome! beautiful!
my room door. my room door.
my room door.

henkka's door is behind me. thats our hall! and pool table
chill roomchill room
chill room

haha the den. tv. computer. pool. couch. enough said.
yeah. the chill room yeah. the chill room
yeah. the chill room

picture numero kaksi.
shhhaaaBANG!!!shhhaaaBANG!!!
shhhaaaBANG!!!

my beautiful bathroom. yes. my. haha.
my roommy room
my room

through the door!


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb