Bad Weather and Estonian Knights


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Viljandi
May 28th 2011
Published: May 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm really enjoying this country, although it hasn't come without its challenges. But through challenges come rewards too. Take yesterday for instance. Leaving Pärnu, rather late, partly due to struggles with the internet but mostly because I couldn't be bothered, the sky and weather greeted me with winds but a kindly, dare I say, almost t-shirt wearing temperature. almost. still had the thermal on underneath and still riding with my hiking boots.

well, all that kind of changed after about 20km. it started to rain a few droplets. i saw a sign for a parking come picnic area. i thought i could have a bite to eat and rearrange (read get out raincoat and bring out the plastic bags that I had been collecting on each trip to the supermarket (i knew they would come in handy one day!)). only this picnic area was a dumping ground for piles of gravel. not the first i had come across. this though is when the covered bus stops come into their own. protection from the weather and a place to sit as well! just mind the odd empty vodka bottle and nesting swallows.

so, onwards i went. slowly. getting wetter and wetter. and then it would kind of stop and the quick dry trousers and gortex jacket would dry off again. by the time i got to kopu though i was pretty much done. i asked at the place i had coffee (i had to stop they were serving lavazza!) if they had a bed (given the sign out the front did indeed have a picture of a cup and a bed which is the universal sign language for drink and sleep). no. no bed. hmmmm. ok no problem. it wasn't dire and no one has died because they got a little wet so i resigned myself to another slow and wet 20km to get to Viljande.

And then.... wouldn't you know it, an Estonian knight in shining armour. Actually, in green overalls driving a delivery van, and yes not quite a knight but he did deliver salvation (along with 3 rissoles and a bunch of bananas). I had seen him earlier on during the day, and he me so, to me anyway, it was like buddies being reunited. He was going to Viljande and offered to put the bike in the back and me (not in the back)with him. Need I say that I didn't refuse? And, as he didn´t speak English, and we all know my Estonian is non-existent, he called his friend Dennis (and English and German speaker) to provide me with help that I might need when I got into town. Mind you, I was rather amazed (alarmed??) that he could make calls on the phone, write things down, make eye contact, avoid children crossing roads all whilst driving.

So, last night I was delivered, safe and sound, to the B&B of Ilse which beats staying in a hostel or campground (there is none here) hands down. Thank you Liive! Ilse fed and watered me, and today gave me such a beautiful breakfast of freerange scrambled eggs, with home grown radishes, dill and spring onion as well as toast and apple marmalade how could I not stay another day? I also wanted to catch some of the international puppet festival that is running until end today. Sadly, it moved from Viljande yesterday to Tallinn. What?! Anyway, there is a music festival in town today at 3 o'clock which will be great as well.

There is actually quite a bit to see in Viljande. It has a strong folk music tradition which I think will be highlighted at today's performance. There are also remains of ruins scattered around the town, gorgeous wooden buildings, a lake and an all round good feel about the place. Plus it's sunny today which always makes a difference.

Tomorrow I will continue the journey north. I've looked at the map and sadly there is no straight road that will take me there so I think the route at this stage will see me travelling via Vohma, and then taking highway no 2 which joins the 5 at Mäo and head to Aravete, Tapa and then hit the number 1 at Loobu before taking the smaller roads into the Lahemaa National Park. Not sure how long all this will take. I think the way my rythmn has been it's cycle like silly for 4 days and then rest. So maybe I should continue with this. As always, not sure when I'll next get to update the blog but will try.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb