SAS the stupidest airline on the PLANET


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark
February 23rd 2007
Published: December 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 55.6763, 12.5681

When I arrived in Dublin from Lisbon I has a few hours to kill until my Copenhage flight
so I met one of my old mates in town for lunch which was great to catch up and vaguely tempting to stay and go on the lash, but no I headed home for an hour to switch bags (i.e. bring empty suit case back), got stuck in rush hour traffic for an hour to get to the airport and then my flight was cancelled!

Cph airport was close due to a bad snow storm. After an hour of queuing to find out the options I ended up staying in airport Clarion Hotel and watched Barcelona-Liverpool (which C was at in Barca) drank 2 dodgy pints of Guinness, ate an ok asian-fusion dinner with a German professor, puked (I blame the Guinness) and slept like a baby. So next day check in at 9:20 for 11am flight which doesn't leave til 2:30pm as Cph still not ready to take incoming aircraft. So got to know a good few people at the make up counters in those hours, had more testers that a crash test dummy. Finally get to CPH at 4:30pm so missed a days work which was not happy about as have a deadline and get paid by the hour but winter weather whaddya going do eh? Be philosophical I thought to my self, zen ok, now read on....

Anyway go to get the bags and after an hour it becomes apparent there is NO BAGS FOR ANYONE on our flight or 2 more by the looks of. There was only one runway open in Cph how could they have lost a whole plane load of bags (that were checked in 5 hours in advcance). Never let it be said again in my presence Dublin airport is the worst (as most Dublin taxi drivers like to drone on about any time they collect me) cause it so is not! Anyway it gets worse we were not allowed to talk to any humans behind the 'help' counter only fill in a form and put in a white box and go home, finally got in at 7pm, 25.5 hours after I left the house in Dublin. Call SAS baggage but all lines closed (natch). So next day I call them (aka 18hours after I filled in missing baggage form) and the lady goes "You are not in the system did you not fill out the form", and I go nuts & she says nicely "look to be honest its crazy out here" and that they had no idea whether SK538's luggage load had even turned up, she told me some bags on some flights had not time to be taken off and went back to their original destination, that they had 900 unclaimed bags in the luggage hall and 1100 still missing (how they know this for sure when they don't register your claim I am not 100%) and that really if I ever wanted to see my bag again I should come out again in person and look and they would pay for taxis!

So I told her I'd go that evening as I was at work in the day, she says ok phone before you come in case theres any change. So at 5pm I call but the phone lines are closed arrgghh. So theres an email you can send via their site (but they don't actually tell you the email address directly) so I mailed them to see if they knew ANYTHING. Next day at 11am still no contact so I head out to the airport, go to Sas counter & get sent to Information counter who go "what airline yadda yadda yadda", and then a young one brings me through a coded door (no security what so ever) and back to the luggage carosels and I say where is my flights luggage and she says we don't so you should just know start looking - three quarters of way around the room I find my luggage in a labelled trolley SK538 22Feb Dub, so they did bloody know they had something from that flight but couldn't be bothered to tell any customers, so everyone had to go this whole palaver (and bear in mind it was a full flight). So I get my bag and no one asks me anything or like cross it off a list or anything, remember this is a HUB European airport, I think its shocking how they really do not give a f*ck about the passengers and this isn't even a cheapo airline. Anyway not long after I get home someone who read my email rings to tell me go look for it myself again & that they are open 8am-9pm, so I don't bother letting on I was there already and calmly ask all the same questions like how they lost luggage in the 1st place when there was only one runway open, had my form been registered, had any SK538 luggage turned up and she said "I do not know as I am not in the airport", isn't that the weirdest way for customer service staff to be ?

Met some Aussue girls on Sat. in a pub at Irl vs Eng rugby (we won and I ended the night in pink wellies in a cocktail bar) and they had heard nothing either and had no luggage at all for their city break to Cph! So I told them the location of our luggage trolley for when they were collecting their bags on the way home.
So anyway now Sas still don't know I have my bag and I sent off the taxi receipts yesterday (5th Mar) for the craic anyway but I won't hold my breath ..... Have so had enough of Scandinavia....

UPDATE: I posted the taxi receipts to the address in Denmark I was told to use and now on 21st March I get a call from SAS London (why London?) to say how sorry and surprised they are (but still no actual answers as to the carry on in Cph and still they had no clue as to whether I actually have my bag or not) but the upshot is they are sending me wine to say sorry ! Its like as if the other 120 passengers (or whatever it is) did not complain and no one else had any luggage issues and I know I saw some very irate people at the time....Bizarre.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb