Weekend Holiday day 2


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Syddanmark » Odense
June 21st 2009
Published: July 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up early in the van because the light was so bright coming throught the back windows. Benny was fast asleep untill I started moving about. I was having a bizarre dream about smoking Bennies pipe and dropping it out the bus window or something like that.
Had to get up twice. Once at 5am and then again at 830am. I was surprised cause the early riser beside me was still fast asleep. I couldnt find the handle the first time I had to go. We locked ourselves in incase the muslims came Benny said!! Ha just kidding. I had a bit of a bad dream too that was odd. It was about me dropping Bennies pipe out the window of a bus. Hmm i dont know where that came from. Woke up and had a quick coffee. There was a fellow walking his little dog by our van, and he asked me if we had a dog in danish. I had no clue what he said so Benny replied to him after I got his attention. He was just making sure no one was gonna eat his little doggie!!! The guy had been to Victoria before and even knew where Dalmose was. He said that he knew of lotsa people that slept in there vehicle to avoid paying here. He told us there was a grovery store just up the road where we could get some breaky. Nothing else would be open because it was still early and it was Sunday as well.
Got a couple pastries at the store, and found a place to chow down.
After that we saw this bunker that the Germans had built when they were here in WW2. It was never finished though before the end of the war in 1945. Slow ass Danish workers I guess! Benny said that was on purpose. The place didnt open untill 11 and we werent gonna wait around so off we went. I dont think theres a whole lot to see inside anyways. Good enough. Next we stopped at the most western point of Danmark. There was a ligthouse there and a small museum to mark the worlds biggest windmill farm. The beach was really nice with fine sand. Tons and tons of shells on the beach of knife mussel shells. You had to step on them there was so many. There was something like 80 windmills out there. The town around it was cool. It was a summer home residence where people paid like 2000 a week to rent these old cottages. We walked around and saw the shooting range the army had there. If the red ballon was up you wernt allowed to go in the shooting area they had marked off. Seemed kinda crazy to be right beside a publlic beach but dont ask me. They had troops from all over Europe training here for Afghanistan to prepare for the sand. Saw the museum and took off. We drove all the way up the fjord which was a stretch of land seperating us between a huge lake and the ocean. We stopped in a little town and got some groceries to make lunch. Might as well we didnt need anything fancy.
We stopped halfway and had some lunch. It was pretty funny we had the doors in the back open and were sitting down preparing sandwhiches as people walked by and staring at us. It was only funny because we had the inflatables still out and sleeping bags sprawled out. Benny said we looked like a couple of Polish carpenters who were living out of a van. HAHAHA it totally did too. Drinking beers and everything. It was a good laugh let me tell you.
Got back on the road and I had a bit of a nap. Poor Benny did get that luxury. I woke up and cracked a beer. Nice little power nap. You can drink in the car as well in Denmark I was told. So it was totally legal in case your wondering. It was a bit of a drive to our next stop Arhus, Danmarks second biggest city. On the way we saw this weird looking building that they built to comemorate the indepdance from the Germans from when they came up in the second world war. They have fire shooting out of it and everything when special events happen.
Got to Arhus and decided to check out the Gamle de which was a town made up of ancient architecture torn down and rebuilt here in Arhus. Really cool to see. I tried to get Benny to jump the gate with me buts hes such a wussy!!! Ha so I paid for both of us 150 kr cause I was a student and we were in. There was a tour that just started but they didnt speak English so after 10 mins of that we did our own thing. First stop was a kids museum with all sorts of old toys. Kinda neat. Next stop was this old house from the 1600s. Really cool to see that. They had all the rooms set up like they would have been back in the time it was from. All of these buildings were ancient.
I had to run to the washroom and Benny smoked his pipe. I saw a guy rolling cigars but it said no pictures. It was actually a smoking museum. Only in Danmark. This guy was the only guy in Danmark who hand rolled cigars and this was how he made a living. He had his own shop where he sold these cigars and toured all around Danmark doing these kind of events. He had a big stack as you can see. He rolled one up to dry right in front of us, and had to let it sit for an hour to dry into shape before he could seal the end. Really neat, he said do you like cigars. I said well YAH! He says well since theres no one else here take this as a gift, and gave me a cigar. So nice of him I was honered and had to get a picture of him and Benny. Being the rarity he is. Said our goodbyes and were off for more exploring. It was 430 and the buildings all closed at 5 so we had major ground to cover. We saw the map of where all the buildings came from, saw the old blacksmith building. Benny said that usually someone is in here doing things but not today. Maybe cause its SUnday. Saw the local good store where they dished out groceries and tobacco and that sort of thing. Saw an old windmill, post office, and school.
Benny asked well have you seen enough old shit or what!! Ha i think it was time to go.
Then we were on our way on the scenic route back to Sjealand. We had been travelling all day. I think we had already done like 600 kms. Crazy. We followed the scenic route all the way back to this town where we stopped for a break. Nice harbour there. I couldnt resist and brought out the cigar while Benny ran to grab a hot dog. I had finished off the rest of the lunch stuff so I was ok still. It tasted really good. Even by Cuban standards. What do I know though. As long as it didnt taste like ass I was happy. Walked around a bit, got a few pics and we were back on the road.
We had a bet to see when we would make it back to Dalmose. Svetlana calls pretty often and hadnt called in awhile so she must be busy. Benny called her shortly after! We got back to Fuyn over the bridge and were well on our way back home.
Got to the big bridge and it was 910. I had thought we would be back at 940 and Benny thought 930. So he was gonna be wrong for sure!!! We took the highway home this time. Something we had never done yet. Not that exciting. I was actually looking forward to getting back to Dalmose almost felt like it was my home as well. Kinda funny feeling being so far away from home. Got back and pretty much got ready for Monday tommorow.Other than playing with my new computer for awhile. Then it was time forn bed. Night night.



Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 15; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb