2 Months at Svanholm


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Sjælland » Roskilde
January 12th 2009
Published: January 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Things in Svanholm are still going great. New Years in Copenhagen was just insane! Everyone bought their own fireworks and we all headed out to a big house party in the middle of the city. At 11:00, everyone rushed out onto the street and started shooting them off in every direction. It felt a lot more like Baghdad than downtown Copenhagen.

After the New Years, things have returned to normal. We continue to find little jobs here and there, working from 8 until 3 from Monday to Friday. Some of us at Svanholm have cleaned up the 'teenager room' aka Galaxon and we've set up a Wii inside with a TV and some couches. I've become really good friends with the guys who live in Svanholm and we're even tossing around the idea of renting an apartment in Copenhagen at the end of August. Teens in Denmark get paid to go to University (University is free AND they receive about 1,500 dollars per month for apartment costs etc.) so the boys think it would be fun to have a place in Copenhagen for a bit. I'm thinking I could find a job as a carpenters apprentice or even work at a Danish bakery? We'll see how things go. We're also tossing around the idea of visiting Croatia in the summer or even Bulgaria. We've heard a few horror stories from Bulgaria so we're thinking that Croatia, the more expensive destination, might be the wiser decision.

Some people at the farm have asked me if I feel lonely at all being in Denmark on my own. To the honest, the thought of going home at the moment really doesn't seem all that appealing. I could see myself going back to Quebec but going back to Alberta really just doesn't seem all that appealing. I look back on Alberta and it gives me the feeling of being nothing more than just a big work camp. Random people working from 8 to 5 trying to find that perfect house in the suburbs. Why I would want to return to that I have no idea. I know that I can't stay in Denmark forever but I'm thinking that if I save my money wisely I could plant myself back on the Saguenay in Quebec. After all, University in Quebec is quite cheap and all of those French baby boomers will be retiring soon. Anyway, just some random ideas.

Back to work for now!

Sincerely,
Nicholas



Advertisement



Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb