Day 3


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Sjælland » Roskilde
May 17th 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We got up in Helsingor with plans to see the Kronborg Slot (where Hamlet's character is suspected to have originated) and ended up with the most surprisingly delicious brunch outside the castle walls at the cafe called Kronen. It was so much food, with sausages, brie, salad, yogurt with muesli, eggs, bacon, an American pancake, fruit, and salami. I recommend it to anyone who ever visits the Kronborg Slot, or is anywhere near Helsingor. Mom appeased me by taking me to the Oresundsakvariet (aquarium). You could pet starfish and they had killer jellyfish there that were tiny white creatures that had rainbow currents flowing through their bodies. I want an aquarium now, just so I can keep some killer jellyfish. We left Helsingor in search of the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Humblebaek. It was very modern, and we got to see an exhibit with Cezanna and Giacometti, as well as the famous Golden Thumb statue, or maybe it was bronze. We left there to make another stop in Hillerod to see Fredericksborg Slot. I stayed by the shops around the car to find a converter since we could not figure out how mine worked, but everything closes extremely early in Denmark. Mom came back to rub it in my face, because she said it was the best castle she has ever seen. Hopefully, I will get a chance to go back during my short time here. We started driving to our final destination for the night, Roskilde. We got directions to the Roskilde Danhostel right on the harbor and booked a room for the night. I had no idea you had to purchase linens and towels, but I am glad Mom was there with me to show me the ropes of hostel life. We went into the city to find dinner for the night, and we played rock-paper-scissors to decide who had to make a decision about the restaurant. I won, and Mom decided on a Turkish restaurant that we were standing in front of called Phili's. Mom had a kebab and I had salmon (with the bones in). The waitress was very sweet and explained the menu to us, and Mom and I shared a bottle of Chilean wine. We walked back to the hostel, and neither of us slept very well, but we made a valiant effort at being adventurous the next day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb