Czech Republic


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic
September 8th 2010
Published: September 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello from CZ!
What a cool place this is. Started the trip in Prague. Dynamic, beautiful, exciting, historic city. It has everything. Castles, cathedrals, shopping, architecture, great to walk around in this city and get lost (which I did of course).
Absolutely incredible buildings. It was beautiful walking across the river on the Charles Bridge at night seeing the light play off of the water. I couldnt capture it on my little camera. I stumbled onto something kind of cool while walking over the bridge. There was a stage set up on the river with alternating acts of live music, street performers, opera singers and ballet dancers. Free to watch from the bridge. I went down and had a drink at the bar right in front of the stage for a better view.

I took a day trip to Karlovy Vary which ïs a spa city. The deal there is you walk around with a little porcelin cup and drink out of the hot springs all over town. Typical hot springs water which tasted disgusting, but it didnt kill me.

Next off to Ceske Budejovice (or Budweis) to pay homage to the home of real Budweiser and then off to the incredibly quaint town of Cesky Krumlov. Budweis was OK, but Krumlov was great! Awesome little town with a river running through it. Took the opportunity to do a little kayaking on the river one day. Didnt drown, but it was the first time I had been in a whitewater boat in awhile....I only dumped it once before washing the rust off!

Next stop is Olomouc, in the eastern part of the country. Kind of a Prague in miniature. The night I got in town, I kept seeing all these folks dressed up in their soccer stuff. Big game in town, so I took a chance and bought a ticket from a scalper. Great atmosphere! I cheered along with the crowd, but the home team lost. Cesky! Cesky!

The Czech Republic is an awesome country, but its time to move on!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

My drinking cup.My drinking cup.
My drinking cup.

Not as fancy as the others1
Rafting on the riverRafting on the river
Rafting on the river

not me ....I was in a kayak
Astronomical Clock in OlomoucAstronomical Clock in Olomouc
Astronomical Clock in Olomouc

was remade in the communist era


13th September 2010
Astronomical Clock in Olomouc

clocks
We don't have astro clocks here in Tarboro. How old are the ones you saw and why are they there?
13th September 2010

Dad, I remember a saying from my youth. "look it up in your Funk and Wagnels". Which I never really understood since we didn't have any nor had I ever even seen one. Let me know what you find out!
13th September 2010

Decision
Anne, I gotta know....do you like the hot springs water or the beer the "most"? Your cup looks like plastic...not porcelin...must have been a beer cup. What happens to the Czech boy when someone pops the top on that giant can? Sounds like you are having a ball. Stay safe and enjoy........
14th September 2010

My cup was the one that costs 1 penny not $10! I'm on a budget you know! What do you think? Beer or smelly water? Hmmmmm
17th September 2010

I'm loving your pictures and stories
Thanks for letting us go with you - virtually! This has given us the bug to plan another extended trip in a few years. We went to Cesky and Budweis and had the same impressions. Nice to see they haven't changed in 15 years. Keep up the good work!

Tot: 0.475s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb