London*Prague*Cesky Krumlov


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Church in PragueChurch in PragueChurch in Prague

This was over the doorway of the most beautiful church I've ever seen. (The interior was all Mucha)
I tried writing a journal entry in Prague but I ended up getting lectured by a local about American's and our "morbid obession with death", and my internet timed out before I could send it. That man lived at our hostel's internet cafe so I decided not to go back there... and because of that I have quite a bit of catching up to do.
The flight was horrible. My idea to not sleep the night before was a horrible mistake. I didn't get more than 2 hours sleep on the plane. When we landed in London I was walking around like a zombie. We had a few hours to kill so we took the Underground into Piccadilly and had a beer before having to rush back to the airport.
When we landed in Prague we had been travelling for 24 hours straight and were very jet lagged and delirious. I didn't have the czech currency down and gave our cab driver a ridiculous tip. He was so happy with me I thought I might have tipped him $40 but later I figured out it was closer to $9.
The next day we took it easy and walked around Prague. Every
View of PragueView of PragueView of Prague

This picture looks like I'm deep in thought while I gaze out upon Prague but I'm actually just jet lagged and trying to hold my head still while thinking about my next coffee.
time we stopped to sit we alternated between coffee and beer. It's true what they say about the beer it's cheap and amazing. We took a stroll to Charles Bridge and saw a great little dixieland jazz band playing. It was like I was in a Woody Allen film.
When we got back to the hostel we changed and I told the guys I really wanted to check out a Jazz bar. We spent our entire evening bar hopping looking for the Jazz place which we never found. We finally settled in what was labeled a "Reggae Bar" but didn't play much Reggae. We had a few more beers and realized it was 4am so we ran back to the tram stop to get back to the hostel. We waited 20 minutes for the tram and when it finally pulled up it didn't open the doors and left us out in the cold with the other drunkies.
The next day in Prague was our scheduled Bike tour. On our way to the bike shop we passed a Gypsy festival. They had traditionally costumed groups parading through the main square. We saw 3 groups pass by. One of them was from
Prague Bike TourPrague Bike TourPrague Bike Tour

My sweet ride on the Prague bike tour
Dubrovnik and I'm not sure where the second was from. The third group that passed held a sign for Mexico and consisted of 3 men in sombreros and a dog. Quite funny. Our bike trip was great. The other people in our group were Frat boys from Florida University. They were very nice but were obviously in town to check out girls and party. The bikes on the trip were very faulty and Alistair had the worst bike. After riding uphill on a cobblestone road we realized his back tire ahd gone completly flat but our bike guide didn't have a pump. One of the frat boys had a bike with a pedal that would pop off unexpectedly and a 3rd bike had a wheel that was rubbing against the frame. Despite our crap bikes we saw a lot of great things on our tour. My favorite was a Catholic Church that had stained glass windows and painted walls and celings designed by Mucha. It was so beautiful but unf. I couldn't take any pictures in there 😞
That night we decided to lay low in the evening and not drink all night so we set off looking for a
Prague Prague Prague

Can you spot the tourist?
jazz bar again. After a few bars we finally found it only to find out that the music was more along the lines of the Sex Pistols, the Clash and Madness. I was sad to not hear jazz but it was the best american music we had heard on the trip so we decided to stay. (The Czech people love bad 80's music and I swear I hear "She's A Maniac" at least once a day). One beer at that local bar turned into "just one more" and after a long discussion that started with music and ended with politics we realized it was 4am again.
The next morning we had to make our way to Cesky Krumlov. That was my first real experience with the backpack and it really sucked. We dragged our backpacks down to the train station and couldn't figure out where the entrance was. We walked around in circles before finding our way down to buy tickets and store our bags. We jetted back into Prague for our last look around. The boys wanted to go to the Museum of Communism and I wanted to go to the Mucha museum so we parted ways for a
Passed out in PraguePassed out in PraguePassed out in Prague

This is what happens when you're the first one in the group to pass out...
bit.
After the museums we went back to the train station and tucked into our own cabin on the train and stretched out. On the papers it said we would ride from Prague to Ceske Budjovice and it would take about 3 hours. When the train suddenly stopped about 1.5 hr into our ride we were confused and a large man came to our cabin and pointed off the train and said "Get off!" in Czech... or at least that's what we thought he said. We got off the train and looked at a map and realized we were only 1/2 way there.We were confused so we tried asking people what was happening but no one spoke English. Finally I heard english in the distance and I ran over to talk to them. Thats when we teamed up with our Australian friends Adrian and Keri. Turns out we had to switch to a bus for a 20 min ride and switch back to another train before getting to Ceske Budjovice. We arrived there so late we missed our connecting train and were told it would be a 2 hour wait. Our Australian friends found out a bus was leaving in
Passed out in Prague Pt 2Passed out in Prague Pt 2Passed out in Prague Pt 2

After a few more pictures (won't post the whole series) I finally got some sympathy...
5 minutes and we jumped on the bus with them.
When we got off the bus last night we were totally blown away. We heard this was a "cute little medivel town" but that doesn't begin to describe it. This place is amazing. We wish we had more time but unf. have to leave tomorrow. We parted ways with our Australian friends saying "this place is so small I'm sure we'll run into each other again" but didn't expect to walk into the same restaurant for dinner. Our meal last night was the best meal of the trip and was so inexpensive. There was a large open fire pit and they served large slabs of meat on wooden plates. Our huge meal including beers and dessert came to about $15-20 each. After dinner we talked to our friends again and teamed up to go out for a beer. We read our little map of good bars to go to and headed into the Horror Bar. That place was hysterical. It was like Knott's Scary farm complete with a bartender who looked like a female Marilyn Manson. The ceilings had skeletons and skull heads everywhere. The bar was PACKED with drunk
Ryan & KafkaRyan & KafkaRyan & Kafka

Ryan hamming it up in front of the Kafka cafe inside Prague Castle.
Americans and Australians who did everything from knock a candle on us to pass out on us. We somehow managed to leave at 2am instead of 4 and decided we'd all go horseback riding in the morning.
The horseback ride was awesome. Alistair's horse was the biggest horse I've seen in my life. He looked as tall as a giraffe. My horse Monty was a bit of a rascal. He would walk me into a tree and would sneak a bite to eat which I was told not to let him do. Our guides yelled out "hold on saddle" and said something in Czech and all of our horses began to trot. Scared the crap out of us. We all thought we were going to fall off our horses. Luckily it was only for a short time. After that we went through a large field of Dandelions and Monty decided he needed to feast and that I was no match for him. He would lean down. I would pull up on the reins and he would overpower me sending me face first on top of him. Monty must have done that about 20 times. The horses behind me saw Monty was eating and started misbehaving as well. What a little punk that Monty was.
So that pretty much catches me up to where I am now. We had lunch with the Aussies at a Czech Restaurant which was really good and really cheap again. I had fried Camembert cheese. Delicious. I stopped in to use the internet free of lectures about Americans being morbid and now that I've caught up my writing on my trip I'm going to go skip about town checking out the shops and probably stroll through the castle. Not a bad life.
We leave tomorrow for Vienna so hopefully I'll have time to drop another entry there before heading to Croatia.
Until then...


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Cesky Krumlov 3Cesky Krumlov 3
Cesky Krumlov 3

Great shot Ryan!
Cesky DecorCesky Decor
Cesky Decor

This picture pretty much sums up the running decor theme in Cesky Krunlov
Best Meal EVERBest Meal EVER
Best Meal EVER

This was our ridiculously large insanely cheap favorite meal of the whole trip...
Adrian and KerrieAdrian and Kerrie
Adrian and Kerrie

Our Australian friends in front of the best view of Cesky Krumlov.
Horseback Riding in CeskyHorseback Riding in Cesky
Horseback Riding in Cesky

We felt really cool wearing these hats (sarcasm). I'm sure they would have provided a lot of protection if our horses had succeded in tossing us off their backs.
Alistiar & ArchieAlistiar & Archie
Alistiar & Archie

This is Alistair on his horse Archie. I don't think you can quite see just how large this horse was. I swear he was twice as tall as the other horses. He enjoyed walking Alistair into bushes to distract him while he grabbed a bite to eat.


30th May 2006

sounds like fun!
while your riding around on horses going into castles and eating fried cheese, i'm here in my boring ass life. i'm jealous chachi JEALOUS! tell al that cow girl is good but albert's dad gave her some korean bbq and word up to diarhea craziness.
30th May 2006

Glad to hear you are having fun!
BS! I am so glad you are doing this blog thing! I am taking notes for when I ever get over there. Keep on having fun! Take care! lb
30th May 2006

also
so people at work do 3 things to me since you guys left: 1. say they thought i was going on the trip with you guys. 2. ask me why i didn't go 3. ask me if i miss you guys #3 is what i don't understand. i just give them a wtf look.
31st May 2006

I'm glad you're having fun
Hey Poos, I miss you and I'm glad you're having a good time. Be safe and keep writing so I know you're ok. Also, don't forget to give me the lowdown on the Euro-dogs! I know you're going to Vienna, watch out for the Vienna Sauages... wink wink, giggle giggle.
1st June 2006

radness
i'm so jealous of u guys, but at least reading yer perspective helps me feel like i'm "kinda" there. have fun roaming around europe and i can't wait to see yer pix. lemme know if wd gives the europeans a taste of the scottish hurricane sometime. take care ^_^

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb