Lesser Town and Old Town


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Old Town
March 16th 2013
Published: March 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Lesser Town Lesser Town Lesser Town

Taken through an archway
We had an amazing breakfast at Hotel Aron this morning and headed quite expertly to the Florence station. Then jumped on a tram that went near Charles Bridge. We stopped at a souvenior shop and I bought Ava a small set of Matroshka dolls. Those are the Russian dolls that go inside of each other. The girl at the counter gave her a free sheet of Prague stickers, which was really nice of her. We had a short walk along the river and then headed over Charles Bridge in the morning sunlight. It was mostly empty and very beautiful. Ava had given me the stickers to hold, then taken them back again, and then gave them to me to hold again. When she asked for the stickers back for the third time, I told her no, and that I was keeping them safe for her. I listened to her whine and gave her warnings to stop. I think Ava will always remember the Charles Bridge as "The bridge I got spanked on". People turned their heads to look but kept walking until she finally collected herself. I didn't hear about the stickers again.

When we arrived on the other side
Pretty BuildingPretty BuildingPretty Building

Sorry, I don't remember :-(
of the bridge to Lesser Town, I was in awe. Everything there is beautiful. It had probably been just as amazing on the other side of the bridge, but it didn't hit me until Lesser Town. Every building, every nook, every cranny all seem like perfection. Also, I found a Starbucks, which just put special sparkles on top of the perfection for me. Around the corner from the Starbucks was St. Nicholas Cathedral and belfry. Ava and I paid a bit of money and climbed over 300 stairs to see the top of the belfry. We got to see all the rooftops and have a nice view of the castle and Charles bridge as well. It was really beautiful.

Then, we went to St. Nicholas Cathedral. It was about $4 to get in if you don't get the student discount, which doesn't apply to students over the age of 26. So, I showed my EMU ID that does not show my birthday and only had to pay $3 due to the nice guy behind the counter giving me the benefit of the doubt. I was quite proud of myself for that. Then, I turned around and was spellbound by the overwhelming beauty of this cathedral. There isn't an inch of this place that is not complete perfection. Every part of this cathedral is covered in beautiful paintings, gold or marble, but it is not gaudy tacky in any way. Words and pictures cannot do justice to the beauty in this Cathedral or Lesser Town as a whole. It's almost ridiculous because it is so beautiful and ornate!

After a few hours, we walked back across the bridge and witnessed a random dance party. The video is included below. Then, we took a nice little boat tour under a few of the bridges and up a little canal in Lesser Town. While we were waiting for the boat, Ava started crying that she needed to use the bathroom. However, there were no bathrooms anywhere around and we would miss the boat if I took her. Our guide suggested that I let her pee in the river, and I was glad for the suggestion. I held her over the edge of a walkway and she made her mark on Prague in her own special way.

After the boat ride, we went to the Old Town Square. Even though I read about this place, it wasn't what I expected. It was bustling with food booths and people everywhere. Wonderful smells and smiling tourists dominated the square. There was even a small petting zoo with a pony, donkey, goats, and sheep. We also saw the astronomical clock. I guess I expected more when it went off on the hour, but it was still pretty. Also, the Minute House is in the square. Even though we looked for the Church of Our Lady, we couldn't find it.

Instead, we headed into Wenceslas Square. It was pretty and there were some street performers there. One of them was playing glasses of crystal and it was really cool. Be sure to check out the video below!

By now, it was late afternoon and we headed back to the Aron Hotel. It was much warmer today and very sunny. We really enoyed the day and are looking forward to our last day in Prague tomorrow.

Enjoy the photos and videos!

Astronomical Clock:




Charles Bridge




Random Dance Party at Charles Bridge:




Playing Crystal:



Additional photos below
Photos: 79, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Me and AvaMe and Ava
Me and Ava

Taken on Charles Bridge with Lesser Town in the background
MomMom
Mom

Taken on Charles Bridge with Lesser Town in the background
Me and AvaMe and Ava
Me and Ava

In Lesser Town
Lesser Town RooftopLesser Town Rooftop
Lesser Town Rooftop

From St. Nicholas Belfry
SwoopSwoop
Swoop

EMU's mascot with prague in the background
PraguePrague
Prague

From the top of St. Nicholas belfry
PraguePrague
Prague

From the top of St. Nicholas belfry
PraguePrague
Prague

From the top of St. Nicholas belfry


Tot: 0.518s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb