Prague, the fly by night, first time around...


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Old Town
May 12th 2012
Published: May 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Prague, the fly by night first time around.

I only had one night in Prague on my first loop as I come back for 2 nights when I am doing the eastern treks later in September and then I am back for a week in November when I have a latin dancing conference for 4 days. On most of the bus trips on busabout it is all too easy to fall asleep or sometimes I write this blog as we travel almost exclusively on boring tree lined highways and there is not much to see. However the trip from Dresden to Prague was a little different.

Coming from Germany, the little outlying towns and houses finally looked like I expected German houses and scenery to look like. Tall houses with steep triangular roofs with shutters and bigger eaves. I expected Germany to be green but wasn't prepared for how continuously green everything is. Brownsville where I've been the last couple of years doesn't make the same lush impression (except the 3-4 months of cyclonic conditions). Coming into Prague the change was very obvious. The houses were much closer together and the buildings narrower. There was a tiny town we drove through with the remains of a tower and castle-like buildings on the edge of a cliff which was amazing. I was on the wrong side of the coach to take photos, sorry.

I did however make friends with the girls in front who decided to play the shopping game. Basically its a memory game to see who can remember all the items on the list with each person adding to the list as you take turns around in a circle. Here's ours

I went to Czech with Bianca and Rachael and I bought...an

Apple
Coffee
Icecream

Board game
Souvineer magnet
Postcard

Leotard
Pringles
Tutu

Peacock feather
Minature tree
Nail polish

Boat
oar
Sail

12 dozen eggs
Bacon
2 banana pancakes
Juice
Sunflower
Vase

This was where the craziness ended as none of us could continue to get the order right! Haha

I settled into my 8 bed dorm with only 3 beds taken, awesome! We then headed into town for photos. I didn't try to do any sight seeing as I know I will be back later and would rather do things properly. We got into town at 7.30 to be heralded by some amazing horn players who were playing what sounded like traditional music from a balcony above the city square. It was a delightful introduction to Prague. We had dinner at a cute eating square in the main town area and unfortunately the food looked better than it tasted, and I was wishing for my secret Italian find in Berlin.

I was blown away by the pretty castles at night, I am definately looking forward to returning here in the near future. :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb