Hello England!


Advertisement
Published: December 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Staring out the window, I spotted England from afar. The scene was amazing. Houses and buildings went as far as the eye could see. The sun was shining bright, but in a way you could tell it was cold outside. All of it was new to me and Abby, never have we’ve been to a different country. I was, and still am, in awe.
Once we landed, Abby and I had to get off of the plane and go to the Czech Airline terminal. It was a little far from where we were, but the distance didn’t matter. Our concentration was on where we were and on all the new things that surrounded us. I felt a little scared because everything was so foreign and different, I’m so glad to have Abby with me because if I were alone, I think I’d be so lost and scared, that all I’d want to do is go home.
We boarded the airplane at 2:40p.m. This plane was way smaller than the British Airways plane that we just came off of. But fortunately, we only had to stay on it for a shorter period of time. We stayed up the whole ride over to Ostrava.
For those of you who don’t know where Ostrava is located, it’s in a country called the Czech Republic. It’s in Europe, right next to Poland and Germany. Our trip isn’t primarily focused on Ostrava, but it’s focused on a place in Poland. We decided to land in Ostrava so that we could have the opportunity of visiting places along the way. We made plans to rent a car and drive to our final destination. This trip that we decided to take is for our enlightenment, so we decided that we wanted to visit a place called Auschwitz-Birkenau. It’s in a town or city called Oscwiecim, in southern Poland. This is where many people of various religions were persecuted during World War II. Both Abby and I saw it as an opportunity, not only to educate ourselves more about what people went through back in those days, but it’s an opportunity to encourage ourselves spiritually.
We arrived in Ostrava at 5:45p.m and by the time we got our bags, it was around 6:15. We went and picked up our car and drove to our hotel nearby. We got a small economy car called an Opel. It’s not what I would usually want to drive, but it’s good enough. I’ve learned on this trip that as long as we have something that works properly, it’s good enough. I’m usually a very picky person when it comes to certain things, but I’m slowly learning to be content with what I get. But getting back to the trip, we drove to our hotel- the Atom Hotel and rested the rest of the night. By the time we checked in and got into our room, it was like 8:30. Since it was a foreign place, we had to use a map. Abby was the navigator and I was the driver, so we got a little lost. But we found our way. We just took a couple of detours, which was actually really fun because we got to explore a little.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb