Edit Blog Post
Published: January 26th 2011
Savudrija, a small fishing village, is located on a small peninsula and is a favorite romantic oasis to those who are in love with the beauty, history and the blueness of the sea. In ancient times, it was witness to sea battles, dangerous pirates and to the luxurious balls of nobles. Today it rests peacefully surrounded by pine forests and vineyards, lulled into the rhythm of the waves and the singing of seagulls. Her trademark is an old lighthouse, built in the name of love between an Austrian celebrity and a local girl, which still calls out to many lovers by providing them with proof that great loves live forever. Savudrija is known for its hanging boats - the specific way of keeping boats from bad weather. The boats are lifted with ropes above the sea and remain suspended in the air, waiting to meet with the blueness of the sea again. Savudrija and its surroundings can boast many historical finds, ranging from those which are prehistoric, Roman and medieval up to beautiful Austrian villas. This rich red soil gives food to vineyards whose wines are widely known. The sea abundantly bestows its delicacies that can be tasted in all of
Savudrija’s restaurants, taverns and at the tables of local people. The area is ideal for many sports, from cycling, trekking and jogging to surfing because the shores of Savudrija’s peninsula are frequented by various winds. Because of its pleasant and mild climate, natural beauties, cultural attractions and the warm hospitality of the people, Savudrija represents the authentic door to irresistible Istria.
The human presence in this area dates back deep into the past. Stone items, created 11170 years ago, were found here. In a later period, the population of the Histri built prehistoric settlement forts. Roman rule brought more advanced constructions, trade and numerous settlements. Numerous are the findings from that period, the most important remains being those of the harbor, with breakwaters, walls, various buildings, gravestones and a bronze statue of the goddess Isis Fortune from the 2nd century. The Middle Ages brought many wars, attacks and diseases. At the beginning of the 9th century, a battle between Croatian and Venetian ships took place before Savudrija, and at the end of the 9th century it was robbed by pirates. In the late 12th century, the second great battle between the Venetians and the Genoese navy
took place, and shortly thereafter Savudrija fell under Venetian rule. In the mid 15th century, Croatian refugees from Dalmatia fleeing before the Turks came here. After the Serenissima rule, came Napoleon’s army which was soon taken over by the Habsburgs, who remained in power until the early 20th century. In that period the Savudrija area experienced a real boom: agricultural development, numerous villas and summer residences were built, and this area developed into a tourist and health destination, which brought many visitors from Austria and the rest of Europe. From 1922 until 1945, Italy ruled and those were difficult years under the fascist regime. From the end of the Second World War until 1947, the area of Savudrija belonged to the town of Piran and then became as part of the Free Territory of Trieste, where it remained until 1954. The area was then annexed to Yugoslavia until 1991 when it became an integral part of Croatia.
The Lighthouse – it is the oldest lighthouse in Croatia, built in 1818. It is 36 meters high and was the first lighthouse in Europelit with gas. There’s a legend about the lighthouse about the tragic love of an Austrian statesman and a Croatian noblewoman because of whom the lighthouse was built.
The Chapel of St. John - was built in the 11th century
The parish church - the church has three altars, with the presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary, St. John and St.Peter, while on the side altars there are statues of the Virgin and the Sacred Heart. The bell tower dates back to 1869.
The Church of St. Peter – formerly prehistoric ruins, the church of St. Peter was built in the Middle Ages. Inside the church, stone fragments from the 9th century were found, and the church was desecrated in the 19th century and converted into a barn. The exterior walls with windows and a semicircular apse were preserved.
Kaštel Sipar - it is part of the lost town of Siparis, the remains of the city today are below the sea surface. It was destroyed in 876, rebuilt several times, and abandoned in the 16th century
Stancija Grande - a beautiful villa known as Villa Cesare. The entrance to the estate is an impressive tunnel made of large laurel bushes Valfontane – the church of St. Lawrence, whose existence is confirmed by documents that are more than 800 years old. The facade has a distinctive appearance due to the hanging arches on the top. The bell dates back to 1597. The church altar was preserved with a pale showing the patron saint.
Zambratija – it was inhabited in prehistoric times. A tombstone from the Roman period, the ruins of various buildings and walls were found, while the present building largely dates back to the late Middle Ages.
The “Branko Jurić”- pločkanje Tournament “” an international tournament in pljočkanje, a traditional folk game 14.04.-17.04.
The Savudrija Open - golf tournament 25.04.
Feast of May 1st - traditional folk festival with a culinary and entertainment programme 01.05.-02.05
The Celebration of St. Peter - a traditional feast with an entertainment program 27.06.
Savudrija Nights - folk festivals and events with gastronomic offers and entertainment 16.07.-27.08.
ATP tournament, Umag - famous international tennis tournament 26.07.-01.08.
Sepomaia viva, Umag - Festival of the Antique 02.08.-03.08.
Tot: 2.547s; Tpl: 0.089s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0429s; 2; m:saturn w:www (220.127.116.11); sld: 3;
; mem: 1.4mb