Island Hopping


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Hvar
September 10th 2006
Published: September 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Marco Polo DayMarco Polo DayMarco Polo Day

fireworks celebrating something about Marco Polo, allegedly born on Korcula
I'm browner than ever! I've been spending the last week or so roasting myself (skin cancer is coming, I'm sure) around the rocky islands of the Dalmatia in Croatia. I left Dubrovnik last week for Korcula and hung around on the beach (the beach in Croatia consists of rocky shores that naked people lay about on) and at this great party hostel appropriately named 'One Love' run by a South African man in little shorts. There I ran into two American dudes I'd previously met in Pamplona, Spain during San Fermin and tagged along with them to Hvar (another island). We rented a boat and spent the next two days boating around the smaller islands and camping along the shores. We snorkeled and swam and floated and sunbathed and watched a full moon rise over the water. Alas, it was lovely. I'll think back to these times, fondly recall the nudists doing cannonballs off the boats surrounding us, and sigh Croatia...

So, my skin is starting to be better. Aside from my shingle scars/scabs, mosquito bites (about 40), and scrapes, cuts, and bruises from falling on the rocks, I think its looking pretty good. I need to get out of
KorculaKorculaKorcula

Pretty little island
Croatia soon cuz its not a very cheap place. It's about the same as anywhere in Western Europe. Next, I am think I am going to go to Bosnia because I hear Sarajevo is an amazing place. If not there, I may be sailing to France on a yacht for the next week and half or so. I'll keep you updated on that one.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

our dingyour dingy
our dingy

out off Hvar
boatingboating
boating

Boating around Hvar with a guy named Ryan (pictured) and a guy named Mike (behind the camera)


11th September 2006

AHELLAAAAOOOHHH
Glad to hear Croatia rawks. I've been awake for about three days now, it was Notte Blanca in Rome on the weekend and it was all happening. I find it rather odd that people go to put flowers on Julius Caesar's funeral pyre, but perhaps its because I have no fascist leanings I'm aware of. PS - United Airlines are going to suffer my wrath....they accidentally forgot to reserve my spot on the flight home. Fortunately Singapore Airlines let me on anyway. Damn United. PPS - Sailing to France sounds awesome!
19th September 2006

Ahoy!
Arrrggh... back in the States, it's National Talk Like a Pirate Day! I hope yee be havin yerself a mighty whale of a time sailing. Grad school is lots of work. Sorry bout the shingles. Ann Arbor is somewhat Davisesque.

Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb