More on Dubrovnik


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Dubrovnik
August 21st 2006
Published: August 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

Yes Suzanne I have definitly noticed the smell of the pines and various other smells that I dont recognise.

A few more comments in no order, as much for me to remember my time here.

Crazy parking. Along with the crazy driving we have seen some totally bizarre parking, as in parked on an angle across a stop sign at an intersection. And we have seen this more than once.

Friendly people. I was out on the street by our apartment trying to figure out what our actual street address was, holding a pen and paper and obviously looking confused. A couple of people stopped and asked me could they help me.

Resturant touts. In the old town at lunch time there are people everywhere trying to get you to eat at their resturant. I was expecting this in Greece but not here. It is a pain in the bum.

Bad experience somewhat of ordering a meal and being brought out bread and spread, that we hadnt asked for, so assumed it was complimentary, then finding out we actually had to pay for it at the end. Same thing with the salad bar, We asked if it was included and the waiter said help your self. So we assumed it was included in the price of the meal. It wasnt and we were charged for that also. I couldnt be bothering making a fuss. Just will be far more careful in the future.

Supermarket shopping. It is a wholely unique experience pointing at food and saying you want that, having no idea what so ever what the cost is. Especially when I brought cheese. Luckily it turned out it wasnt too expensive.

Beer!!!!! Croatian beer is cheap (at the supermarked) and bloody good. Much better than NZ beer. We are drinking a bit of beer as there is nothing that quenches your thirst like a cold beer when the sweat is running down your back and your face is scarlett from the heat.

Ah.......the heat. It seems even the locals are thinking it is too hot.

I have found a new god! Air conditioning.! When we finally made it back to our apartment yesterday after a full day of walking around in 34 plus heat, the air con of our place seemed like a gift from god.....LOL

We didnt do the wall walk yesterday and I am going to try to convince Jeff to get up early and we will do it tommorrow morning, while the light is good and there are not so many other people around. I came out to the old town this morning at 7.15 am ish and it was a different place without all the other tourists around. Jeff stayed in bed.

Cats. There are cats everywhere. I assume they are strays.

We went for a swim the first day here and it was amazing. The water is so salty it holds you up. Jeff took a pic of me doing a good starfish inpersonation. It is really great being in water and not having to worry too much about keeping yourself afloat.

Dee

Advertisement



22nd August 2006

Thanx Suzanne
I will try to remember everything you have suggested. Hugs to you too. Despite the hic up re eating out I still adore it here. It is just so me........even with the heat.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb