Return to Dubrovnik


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Dubrovnik
August 23rd 2009
Published: September 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Dubrovnik - Day 1-3 (August 23-25)



Lovice was kind enough to get up at 5:30am to drive me to Dusseldorf airport in Germany (as the trains wouldn’t get me there on time), which is about the same distance as Amsterdam. We got there with me being a nominal navigator but it was fairly straight forward, and of course no border checks as we were inside the Schengen zone. We had a final breakfast of croissant and brie and said farewell for now (or as I had learned the casual good-bye in the Netherlands is “doei” (pronounced do-ee) which I really like and am going to try to see if I can get it into the English speaking vocabulary.

Smooth flight to Dubrovnik, followed by an airport shuttle into town. I was there a day early and was staying in the private rooms which were widely used instead of hotels in Croatia. It was very hot, and after wandering around town a little I headed back to my room, where I was not long inside when there was a knock on the door. It was my tour leader that I had had for the Baltic and Central Europe trips, and she was to lead this trip too. This was a great surprise as we got on really well, as well as her being an excellent leader. We spent the evening catching up and recalling some of our previous trips.

The next evening was our welcome dinner and we got to meet the group. This trip was actually two trips, and so half the group would be leaving after a week. The next morning we agreed to meet fairly early to walk around the wall that surrounded the old town, so as to avoid the heat. Even at 8:30 it was getting hot and so we were very glad to have got up early. We met again for a drink in a café outside the wall perched on rocks looking out to see, where we watched the sun set. Very picturesque (pity I didn’t take any photos!).


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

An old public drinking fountain still in use todayAn old public drinking fountain still in use today
An old public drinking fountain still in use today

There are drinking fountains all around the town


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb