Dubrovnik - truely a beauty!


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Dubrovnik
July 24th 2005
Published: July 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

window towards the seawindow towards the seawindow towards the sea

From the citywalls of Dubrovnik
I went to Dubrovnik early in the morning after a nice ecspresso and a sad good-bye to my two Mostar-companions. I had little interest in crisscrossing Dubrovnik, since I, even though having heard of it's beauties, was to affraid of another tourist hell. So as I arrived to the busstation I decided to go directly to my accomondation for the night and spend some time relaxing. The guy from the hostel came picking me up from the busstation and with great fear I found him sitting on a scooter, which is one vehicle I've promised myself after an accident two years ago never to get up to. So with my bagpack in one hand a bottle of water in the other and a long dress on I looked rather pale about the idea. He laughed and said he was a really experienced driver, looked at my scirt and said that it would be a funny trip. So I sad up on his scooter with my bare legs spreding in each direction feeling rather ridiculous, whereafter he said please don't worry, in five minutes we will be in love. Arghhh...
But the trip ended nicely and I actually found it really nice
view over Dubrovnikview over Dubrovnikview over Dubrovnik

view from the citywalls of Dubrovnik
with a fresh breeze.
I came to the hostel and met my roommate for the night, a chilenian guy. We had a talk and he introduced me two the neighbours, four irish girls, who I fastly found out all had a copi of the new Harry Potter book.
Even though I had plans to rest, I joined them for a trip around the city wall and a bijela kava in center of Dubrovnik. I got happily surprised that the tourists didn't seem to destroy the beauty of the old center and ones again I found myself stunned about the beauty of another Balcan city. We toured the city-walls untill my memorycard, which is rather large was almost full. Everywhere from these huge citywalls you have a marvellous view over either the center, the mountains or/and the sea and islands. The sea is deep blue and the cliffs take dramatic stands from the water. We had a break of at least 15 minutes being rather scared for a young guy jumping of the cliffs and a stop to buy forfreshments. So my day went by fast. I found myself once again in good company and experinced the pure Irish humor at
view of the adriaticview of the adriaticview of the adriatic

view from the citywalls of Dubrovnik
it's closests.
We spended the evening in our residents, getting drunk, having fun and reading. I was so lucky to be able to borrow the new Harry Potter from one of the girls. In the end I went to bed and fell instantly asleep, while they headed for the center to find a party.
So my day in dubrovnik turned out to be another fully used day with new interesting people to share it with!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 21; qc: 108; dbt: 0.1456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb