I Live in Bulgaria


Advertisement
Bulgaria's flag
Europe » Bulgaria » Blagoevgrad Province » Bansko
January 23rd 2007
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On the pisteOn the pisteOn the piste

Stu, me, glenda and vesso
Bankso, Bulgaria - where to begin. Well it’s a bit of a long story as to how the hell I ended up in this country selling investment properties to buyers from the UK but hey here I am.
The flight on the Air Bulgaria flight from London to Sofia was one of the most harrowing experiences of my life. The outside of the plane looked just fine but once you walked in and saw what was going on it made you think “shit, this could be it’. It was a bit like going back a couple of decades in time to the time of the Iron Curtain. The seats were that plastic blue faux leather, the cabin crew were all dressed differently, there were dirty tissues stuffed between the seats, all the signs were in that crazy Russian/communist writing and pealing off. Oh man. But I did have 3 seats to myself so I just said a short prayer, stuffed my new Ipod earphones in and shut my eyes tight.
I was met at the airport by two of my new work colleagues Dido and Stu. The 2 hour drive to Bansko was fascinating. We passed by countless tiny villages with
aye yie yieaye yie yieaye yie yie

What is going on here?
smoke billowing out of the chimneys making for an almost magical scene. We also passed by numerous old communist style decrepit cement buildings that were spray painted from head to toe.
The apartment that my company is putting me up in is awesome, very big and very modern. Balcony, fire place with all the bells and whistles. The room I have has a massive bed and is the biggest room I have ever had before.
The office is pretty darn cool, kind of like a big glass box on the main road only meters away from the gondola lift to the slopes. There are currently 6 of us working in the office, Todd the manager from Cali, myself, Stu and Vesso doing sales, Dido in charge of marketing and Sylvia who is sort of the office manager. I think a few more people should be coming aboard in the new future, hopefully some females as there is way too much testosterone in that office! It’s all a bit strange to me still. I have my own desk with a huge flatscreen Phillips computer, my own phone line and fax. My daily stresses now include the dreaded paper jam in the
Old manOld manOld man

Fixing the pavement
monster printer, having to fill the kettle up down the hall when the water runs out and making sure that the wheels from my rolly chair don’t get caught in all the wires that surround my desk! I have never had a real desk job before, so this is all new to me. I’ll give you my opinion on desk jobs when I am done.
I have so much to write about. I want to write down my thoughts on Bulgaria and the people, my fellow employees and all the rest. I’ll have to save that for next time.
I am having a great time, it is tough. It was always going to be tough moving to an entirely different world where I don’t speak the language or have the foggiest idea of how to read this crazy alphabet they use here. But hey, I love a challenge and something fresh.

Copy and paste this site. It's about this drink here in Bulgaria called Boza which tastes like liquidized horse manure sprinkled with little pieces saw dust. But they seem to love it here, and everyone that I have spoken to honestly believes if makes your breasts bigger without
Crepes or BeerCrepes or BeerCrepes or Beer

They have tons of these little kiosks all over town selling anything from condoms to fresh made pasteries.
putting weight on. Some girls have been telling me that they refuse to use it, even though they love it because they don't want their breasts any bigger!!
http://www.news.com.au/story/0,23599,21060623-13762,00.html



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

On my way to workOn my way to work
On my way to work

It was early, OK!
My roomMy room
My room

Such a big room, very cosy and warm with the heater on.
My DeskMy Desk
My Desk

Booya!!
ToddTodd
Todd

The yank who runs the show, kinda, sort of. no not really.
VessoVesso
Vesso

At one of the developments. He is ridiculously funny!
Club AmnesiaClub Amnesia
Club Amnesia

Very reassuring. The mafia have a massive presence here in Bulgaria.
The kitchenThe kitchen
The kitchen

Stu eating dinner,it smells kind of funky. We can't quite work out what it is.
My desk part duoMy desk part duo
My desk part duo

I've got a nice view of the goings on in Bansko
LoungeLounge
Lounge

The views of the mountains from the windows and balcony are fantastic!
Our view of Mt VihrenOur view of Mt Vihren
Our view of Mt Vihren

The highest peak in the Pirin range
Crystal DevelopmentCrystal Development
Crystal Development

One that I am selling. http://www.crystal-apartments.com/
The pancake/crepe manThe pancake/crepe man
The pancake/crepe man

Bad news, such bad news. These suckers only cost a buck and are so so so damn good. They have this one with ham, feta and gouda which is to die for. Then there is the nutella and banana one, sugar and lemon one, honey and fruit......


26th January 2007

Handsome boy...
You need help decorating that beautiful room of yours. New jacket? You look handsome except for that morning photo... Smooch! You can do better than that! Miss you.
27th January 2007

Bulgaria!
Ay! Bulgaria looks like it needs a little fixer-upper! Enjoy the cheap food, the clean air, and the non-sensical language that they speak before you return to the UK. Or the States..
12th January 2008

boza
there is no way you can compare boza to horse manure. it is so good. you're just not used to it

Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0885s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb