AMAZING MOSTAR


Advertisement
Bosnia and Herzegovina's flag
Europe » Bosnia & Herzegovina » South » Mostar
November 6th 2008
Published: November 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

2 Police stops we had driving through Croatia and Bosnia, until we came past the Croat city of Metrovic then the proper border control where both Croat and Bosnian patrol is in the same spot, being boarded by different police force one after the other, we only got checked for ID or passport, no stamps. The drive through was beautiful, from gorgeous coasts to picturesque orange groves.

Arriving at the bus stop in Mostar, i had in my hand the card that a fellow traveller gave me about acoomodation, Lena and Rada GH. Lena happens to be in the bus station and we walked together to the GH for 10 euros a night I have a 4 bed dorm to myself, dont know for how long, a bunch of Croatians are apoparently coming later.

Found out on cable TV in my dorm room that Obama won, really happy about that. Here in the Balkans onced they find out I am American they always say their country prefers Obama, couldnt really blame them. Things I noticed here as well is the obituaries posted in walls and posts all over towns. Bloody hard to get rid of my TCs here, none of the banks would change it. They take Euros and give me change back in their local dibdobs.

Decided to walk around the town and try and find the famed Mostar bridge. Saw 3 or 4 modern bridges and thought that one of them was it and so was a bit dissapointed, it was not spectacular I thought. But kept walking trying to find the old town, then noticed the sign that says Stari Most, which I think meant the old bridge so i started to follow it and 20 minutes later i found a trail to a cobbledstone area of the town and lo and behold i caught a glimpse of the bridge in all its glory after restoration, it was bombed during the war. It was a small bridge but very picturesque. This is what Craig had wanted to see.Bought some tangerines which is in season here everywhere you go, bought it from a veggie market in the old town, one bagful for a euro.

Walked around for a bit then went to another bridge where i can get yet another photo of the old bridge.Back at the GH there were 2 Japanese cooking their meal, smelled good but i was lazy so decided to buy hamburger and chips for dinner and watched TV in my room till i fall asleep.

Got up to a cloudy day, seems like it rained last night. Went to the bus station to see about Medjugorje schedules and Sarajevo as well. Then walked around town where I have not been to, I saw this nice building up the hill looks like a school, up the stairs these 2 teenage girls saw me and quickly yelled China! pointing their fingers at me, i got annoyed and yelled back American!! Then walked away, 500 meters later 2 dudes started talking to me in gibberish Chinese, and told them off too by saying I can understand English you know.. then they backed off surprised. I know I should be more tolerant these kids dont see lots of Asians(doubt it really)here in Mostar but I havent had breakfast yet and quite cranky.

Went back to the old town and went to see the museum, there is 3 of them but only one is open, nice view from the top. Sun peeks every now and then, hopefully does not rain today. Walking around the old town I met up with Barry again, we stayed in the same GH in Dubrovnik, we had a good lunch at a local restaturant and walked around in the modern part of town, where we took lots of photos of bullet ridden
houses and buildings. They lay siege to the center of town it seems as lots of this semi ruined bdlgs are located in the center.

Tomorrow off to Medjugorje.


Additional photos below
Photos: 77, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 44; qc: 153; dbt: 0.1711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb