In Sarajevo


Advertisement
Bosnia and Herzegovina's flag
Europe » Bosnia & Herzegovina » East » Sarajevo
August 30th 2007
Published: September 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I took the night train to Sarajevo from Zagreb, I met this Aussi guy called Blair, and a Sweedish couple, who were all in the same compartment. Eugh, night trains with no sleeper parts. It was so uncomfortable. We arrived here at half 6 in the morning, and wow! The people from the hostel took us straight from the train station, and we were the only ones there!! I didnt think there'd be loads of tourists, but I wasnt expecting the hostel to ourselves!! From the short walk round to get money, it seems a really weird mix. Like someones taken Slovenia and Morocco and mashed them together. Ive booked two nights here, but im not sure it'll be enough, especially if i want to get to Mostar at some point. At the moment, Im sitting in a coffee shop in the main square here in Sarajevo and its coming up to 8am, and im watching the city wake up. I feel bad taking photos though, im the only tourist in sight, and this is these people's daily lives, not a tourist attraction. there are a few soldiers on the streets still, and of course all the bullet holes, but apart from that, you'd never know there was a war. I definately dont feel the same hostility towards me as I did in Morocco. I guess its cos here tourism is embraced, as opposed to Morocco which has had tourism thrust upon it. I cant believe how quickly time is passing here, I going to be careful not to lose track of it altogether. I do wish I knew at least some vestage of the slavic languages, it'd make travelling here easier and more enriching. I saw a man today trying to look through the window printed on a page of newspaper. I guess mental health care in the balkans is still lacking.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb