beer-aan-botje


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Limburg
August 15th 2008
Published: August 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Beer-aan-botje
The story so far
Some time ago now I knew I wanted to go off and do something again, first it was backpacking then a campervan and then I came full circle and settled on a child hood dream of a sailing boat.
I started my search and the boat for me became less of a reality, as the more boats I saw the more features I wanted in the boat of my dreams one thing was certain, steel boats are a lot more common in Holland, So off I went in a cloud of smoke to the land of the wooden shoe.
I found a few nice boats along the coast the first day, but nothing really fitted the bill.
That night I imposed my self on some friends from Spain, with there help I got my self a sort of boat mart mag and searched the web and found a good number of boats to look at, With Piets knowledge and guidance a route was planed or at least a viewing order.
The first on the list was in a small place near the coast called Rijensburg.
It was a vary nice sailing yacht with folding mast lifting
agnieszka and Frankagnieszka and Frankagnieszka and Frank

botje on sea trials
keel not all I wanted but most things.
I looked around a few more in the area, nothing of note, so off I headed for a hotel in Monnickendam, Were I was looking at two boats the next morning.
After checking in I had a shower and went out on the town by nine I had done the town twice and stopped in a jazz café for bier and a bite, the brie walnut and banana toastie was so good I had another one.
Then back to the hotel were I lost my heart for the second time that day, for there at the bar was a girl with the most wonderful green eyes.
Brave after a few pints I start chatting with her she only understands half the things I say but we smile and talk, it turns out she is working in the hotel, well the bar closes and there ends the night.
The next day I am up early with boats to see, I go through to breakfast and who do I meet but the girl from the bar I say hello and ask her if she would like to go out after work? Lucky me she
The warfThe warfThe warf

this is were i started out from
says “I will go and see what time I will finish.”
Turns out to be a great spot for looking at boats there was five boats to look at and a few more at the next mariner.
I go back to my room and look through all the details I still favour the first one!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Mast downMast down
Mast down

The new look botje, with her mast down and sporting new fenders.
The viewThe view
The view

This is the view from the wheel, with the mast down.
WeespWeesp
Weesp

Had a great kabab here after a long first day on my trip to Lommal
Another bloody windmillAnother bloody windmill
Another bloody windmill

theres thousends of um


6th October 2008

Wow
Great pics and I am finding out more about your love life by reading this than interigating you by text!

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb