I never heard of the town, Riemst before...


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Limburg » Riemst
January 3rd 2006
Published: November 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

RiemstRiemstRiemst

Driving thru...
So, this is my first time traveling ever...on my own. I finally was able to pull through and go to Europe. With limited funds, I was able to visit for a week...

DAY1 - ARRIVAL. My uncle had picked me up at Brussels Airport and went cruising down the road to where he and his family lived - Riemst. I had NO IDEA where that was, but when I got there...it a small, but quaint town.

When I first arrived, my uncle had asked, "So what do you want to do first?". My answer: "I want to eat a Belgium Waffle!". Must I say... it was D-E-LICIOUS!

For the first time in I don't know how long, I finally got to see my Uncle's family. My aunt just had their 3rd baby just 2 weeks prior to arriving so of course they weren't able to travel much; that's okay though. I was glad that I got to see them, their newborn baby girl and their two sons. I got to stay for the first 3 days of my trip and my uncle took me to a little town called Tongeren. It was interesting as there was a beautiful church that was closed off for the most part due to an excavation they were having. In a small town like this, they have found skeletons underneath the church. What amazing to be in. America doesn't have this! Or at least where I currently live (Southern California).

DAY2 - EARLY MORNING RISE to Maastricht, Amsterdam. My uncle, auntie, my cousins and I drove up to Maastricht as a day trip to just check it out and have lunch. It was an early, gloomy morning and locals were still setting up for the morning farmer's market. By noon, the town came alive and we had lunch at this cute, little cozy restaurant where I had my first raw meat (which I couldn't remember what it was technically called and apparently was a delicacy?).

DAY3 - SET TO BACKPACK on my own for the first time. I left most of my stuff at my uncle's and just packed a backpack and a snowboard attached. I headed off on a train to Switzerland for 2 nights and France for another 2 nights. I had purchased the Eurail pass and traveled thru Paris-Lyon-Geneve-Interlaken. It was the most difficult situation I had came
On the way to RiemstOn the way to RiemstOn the way to Riemst

My uncle just picked me up at the Brussels Airport.
across thus far as I ventured in to France, I felt completely isolated as EVERYTHING just become completely foreign with ONLY French speaking locals and worse...the signs! I managed to pull through to brave and not shy to ask someone...anyone who can help direct me to the right direction. I must admit, I did come across those who ignored me or was obviously reluctant to help an English speaking American. Luckily, there were still a few good people.

More stories on my adventures in Interlaken, Switzerland and Paris, France on other posts...


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Driving...Driving...
Driving...

The countryside...
RiemstRiemst
Riemst

The only stoplight in the town.
TongerenTongeren
Tongeren

Basilica church in the town square.
TongerenTongeren
Tongeren

town square
TongerenTongeren
Tongeren

Basilica at night
MaastrichtMaastricht
Maastricht

A town called Maastricht, most southern of Amsterdam.
In a cafe..In a cafe..
In a cafe..

My uncle took me to a cafe and had some hot cafe.
YumYum
Yum

My first meal in Belgium.
Early morningEarly morning
Early morning

...walking down the empty streets. Everyone is still waking up. :)
LunchLunch
Lunch

First time having raw meat... I couldn't remember what the name of this meal was.


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb