Flying's a ... well you know.


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » East Flanders » Gent
August 3rd 2011
Published: August 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

So when 4 months ago I decided that I wanted to go to the USA, I knew I had a lot of work ligned up. But I only thought of the obvious... Like visa, insurance, schoolstuff, credit cards,...
No, I did not think of the fact that I had to get a TB-test, take 5 unexpected extra shots, or that I should really buy some new underwear & shorts & bathingsuits & stuff to make sure my bagage is locked but can still be opened by security. Let along I was thinking of what I was going to wear on the flight over there.
Nowadays.. That final point has become my biggest concern.

So being my mother's daughter, I google. (When I call my mom and ask a question and she's quiet for a second, you can bet you ass google's open.) So I google & google & google, and apparently, I should get a pashmina. Not knowing what a pashmina is (and honestely, thinking 'this is gonna cost me money again'😉, off course, I googled it. Turns out it's a scarf. Okay. I have one of those. CHECK. This scarf-thing can be used as a blanket, a pillow, a comforter, or you know.. a scarf. Other thing I'll need is earplugs, because I can't stand noise around me & I have a little fear of flying & the sounds enerve me, so I guess that one's obvious.

Then there's the fact that I'm going to need deo. I mean, it's an 8 hour flight, (not counting the lay-over) so sweating will probably occur. But since we're not allowed to take fluids on the plane, this might be problematic. Still trying to figure that one out...

So. I have 5 days left to figure this stuff out, along with some final paperwork, families to see, friends to say goodbye to... Meanwhile, I'm going to go find the biggest scarf (okay, okay, pashmina) I have, and see if I can wrap myself up in it.



Advertisement



3rd August 2011

How to survive a trip in the air.
Gezien je een beetje bang bent : begin 3 dagen op voorhand met neusspray, alle mogelijke oor-sinusitis-neusproblemen aan boord komen door een verkoudheid, zorg dus dat je er géén hebt! (neusspray mee aan boord). Draag laagjeskledij, on the plane is't altijd koud-warm-koud-warm. Dag op voorhand : smeer een goeie laag bodymilk want up in the air droog je volledig uit, als je huid al goed gehydrateerd is, heeft die niet zoveel water nodig en spaar je dat op voor je organen ;-) genoeg water drinken dus aan boord, ook al pist ge u onnozel. Sta toch zeker elke 2uur eens recht en loop eens door de cabin voor je bloedsomloop. Als seatbeltsign on gaat, doe hem dan ook werkelijk aan en denk niet "ppff zal wel niets zijn" want nadien ni wenen als ge nen buil hebt van ergens tegen te botsen. Stel dat het compleet mis gaat : altijd naar de crew luisteren, niet zelf een of andere actie ondernemen, en de meest veilig plekken tijdens het neerstorten zijn net achter de vleugels (tenzij er iets mis is met motoren, kruip dan maar achteraan). Met deze tips stap je dus fashionable van the plane en niet gelijk elke andere ramptoerist ;-) (oja geen jeans schatteke, en geen spannende kledij want je zwelt op in de cabin, zeker 3 kilo!) SUCCES!!!! xx ps : ik volg dit wel ;-)
6th August 2011

Info
heya, i think you'll find 'travel' sized toiletry items at your local supermarket or a chemist so you'll be able to get small deodarants, moisturisers etc for the flight...you are allowed to take 100g or 100ml which is a decent amount. 8 hours isnt that bad just put heaps on before you head off lol! If youre going on a full service airline (like british airways, qantas, cathay pacific, united etc) they will have blankets and pillows on the plane. Otherwise just go for layers as sometimes planes are hot and sometimes theyre freezing and wear something comfy like cargo pants. Something you'd sit around on your lounge watching tv for 8 hours in :) Have a great time! Where are you going?

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb