Brussels - Day 45


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
October 20th 2006
Published: October 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I remember telling myself that I wasn't going to go to Belgium because I had heard that it was boring. I was wrong about Bruges -- I had a great time there. However, unfortunately, I was spot on with Brussels. In my written journal I called it a hole. In retrospect it wasn't that bad, but I didn't find too many redeeming qualities.

I only spent one night in Brussels, and it was plenty. I saw the two main sights that interested me: the Mannekin Pis and the central square. The square was gorgeous -- very ornate and old and full of tourists trying to find a camera angle to capture it all (not possible, believe me I tried!). Not too far away is Brussels' (maybe Belgium's) most famous (by far) statue. There's not much to it really; it's a statue of a little boy peeing. Rather odd, but it's quite the tourist draw. If you've never seen a picture of it, look at the one I've included. It was kind of funny to see, but didn't really justify the fame associated with it.

I had some kebab in Brussels that was by far the worst I've come across. They put mayonnaise and fries inside it and wrapped it in a tortilla. How could that possibly taste good with doner meat? I just didn't get it. At least it didn't make me sick -- the place was a bit dodgy (for kebab shop standards).

Sorry for the short entry, but I really didn't see or do much in Brussels. I spent a bunch of time sitting on the internet and taking care of mailing a package home, but that's it.

Stay tuned for Namur.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Colorful buildingColorful building
Colorful building

It went from red to blue to green. I didn't feel like standing around to get all the colors, though...


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0652s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb