Brussels 2010


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
September 10th 2016
Published: September 11th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I completely loved Brussels. I came there five years back during my first management high school internship. That was my very first long stay abroad even though it was only six weeks and in a border country. I went there from Paris I took the train called Thalys and couple of hours later I was reaching Brussels.

I had such a great time. The city is wonderful, the architecture, the culture are great and people are very nice and willing to help. La grand place especially is amazingly beautiful. I spent half of my time visiting as there were so many things to see. Of course as a tourist I tried to beer, chocolate and the famous belgium fries. Brussels is definitely according to me a city to visit. I had the chance during my stay there to enter the European parliament it is huge and I never though it would be possible for me to come inside and see where most of the politicians are making the laws to rule Europe ! That was such a strong memory.

The association I was working for was named UIRR (International Union of Road-Rail combined transports). As an intern I was spending most of my time doing administrative or secretary tasks. As Brussels is multicultural people do speak a lot of languages there: English, French, dutch, Flemish and German. My colleague was from Turkey so she was speaking Turkish along with this. I was amazed and I admired these people a lot that's why I got interested in studying languages and that motivated me so much !

I met great people and who still are very good friends. At the end of my stay I had the chance to spend one day in Gent which is also called the little Venice ! That was beautiful indeed. During my stay in Belgium I was living in a small flat on the last floor of the building in the middle of a part of the city where a lot of foreigner workers and family were settled. There were all the time some work on the main road and all the way I could smell some food from other countries like spices or oriental and African dishes. That showed me also the multiculture of the capital.

I enjoyed my stay so much I was crying when I said goodbye. I am a very sentimental person and I was saying to myself this was just a goodbye you will see each them again. And that is not far. Unfortunately I didn't have the chance to come back there. Probably very soon !

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb