Brussels - Genk, Belgium


Advertisement
Published: June 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

DownTOWN GenkDownTOWN GenkDownTOWN Genk

G-town was HOT. I mean, can't you tell?
We got up really early to be sure we would have time to complete the walking tour that Raf set up for us the night before. We were up by 8, then off by 9. We walked all over the city of Brussels. We went to the Royal Palace, the EU, NATO, the park, Old Town Square, the peeing statue, St Nicholas, and St Michaels. We found all of our normal tourist gifts, and by 1:30 we were back at the hotel. The whole tour took about 4 hours, but it was great, and coupled with the driving tour from last night, it was an awesome way to see the city.

We also had great food in Brussels. The steak at dinner with unreal, and the Belgium Waffles today were so much better than I thought. How good can waffles GET right? Wrong - they were beyond words. We got them with chocolate, strawberries, and bananas. You would think with all my good food and going out, that I would be getting fat. But that is where the 15 miles of walking a day helps. I am sure I've lost some weight, but as of Prague, I was still around where I was when I left the US.

At 4, we got a train out to a small town called Genk, Belgium to visit Raf and a company that he works for. It was about a 2 hour train, and it went through a lot of nice land. Belgium actually reminds me a lot of US, and Lancaster in particular. A lot of cows and farms. We got out here, toured the facilities, looked at some helicopters (which I decided that someday I would buy), and then went to thier house in the middle of no where. Raf and this other man restore old cars, and they had about 10 ferraris and other cars that they had restored from scratch. They made the bodies, did the paint, and finished the interiors all in thier garages. It was unreal to see the helicopters, and especially the cars. After that, they brought us to a small town called Deist, where we are staying at a hotel, that was a house from like the 9th century. It is really cool, and we have free internet, so that is always good. I wanted to get all caught up with the entries before our last few days. We are headed to Amsterdam tomorrow at like 11 am, and spending one night there before we are off to Rotterdam for one night, then Germany for the last two. The World Cup starts tomorrow night, so that should be unreal; and being in Germany for it will be even moreso. I am so excited, and I hope the US does well.

And I must admit, with 5 days left, I am a little ready to come home. Not be home and away from all the amazing stuff, but to stay in one place more than 2 days, and not worry about our stuff, and to watch TV or speak the language of the country you are in. There are so many things, like a car or phone, or even making your food when you want, that you overlook while on a trip this long. All I know is that it is a perfect length, and in 2 weeks, Im sure Ill be ready for another month. I also think we planned it perfect with 2-3 days in each place. It never got boring, and it was great to see so much of the continent. In fact, with all the Europeans we have met, even they agree - we have probably seen more of Europe than 95 percent of the people that live on the continent. Its a pretty cool thought...

I'll update when I can, but look for us at the game, and LET'S GO USA!

Advertisement



9th June 2006

Did you know?
Have a great time at World Cup. By the way, did you know that Brian plays soccer?
9th February 2008

My visit to Genk, Belgium
i had the most wonderful time during my three day stay in this quiet town of Genk. i loved the people as specially Noke and Lawrence, owners of the most beautiful and homely hotel i have ever stayed in. their friendliness goes beyond words and the food is really good. the room was warm and very comfortable and their caring nature was somethind not often found. if every you want to go to Belgium just to get away for a while ring them. the name of the hotel is t'Hert on 11 Winterslag Straat, Genk, Belgium. it is a short walk from the railway station if you are travelling by train from Brussels Noord. you can always contact the hotel, ask for Noke or Lawrence and tell them Natasja referred you, they will ring Ronnie a local taxi driver to collect you from wherever you are. the roomprices are reasonable and the service brilliant. Please let me know iff you need more information.emails welcome:natasja39@yahoo.com

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1006s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb