Brussels and Brew


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
January 4th 2009
Published: February 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Brussels was really the only city on my voyage for which I hadn't known what to expect. Im glad I had no expectations; it blew me away.

I have never seen a people that take so much pride in two things: beer & chocolate. The Belgians do a few things really well, but they do them really, really, well. I bit into some of the best chocolates and waffles ive ever tasted and more ceremoniously, enjoyed the best beers ive ever had - quite literally. I was lucky enough to sample the official international #1 beer in the world, Karmeliet Triple. a beer brewed with tradition since the 1600s. The beer culture in Belgium is particularly unique. Each beer must be served, in accordance with unofficial law, in a goblet-like glass specifically made to open up its flavor and leave room for the proper head of foam. A science indeed.

I found myself enamored with the EU Parliament as well. An amazing building, but an even greater symbolism for the the world's greatest Union and treatise.

I was very impressed with Belgium.

Calendar of events



Saturday Jan 3rd:
- afternoon arrival
- Palestinian protest at La
La BourseLa BourseLa Bourse

the Stock market
Bourse
- Hostel check-in
- Visit La Grand Place
- Beer at a brasserie
- Beers at Cafe Delirium where I met an interesting French man

Sunday 4th:
- Daytime visit to the Winter Festival
- chess games at the chess cafe
- Palestinian riot at La Bourse
- Nighttime Ice skating at the Winter Festival
- out for hot chocolate

Monday 5th:
- Belgian Waffle
- Palais du Justice
- Royal Palais
- EU Parliament
- dinner out a rue Bouchers
- Met interesting African woman in internet cafe and we go out for drinks all night

Tuesday 6th:
- 8am train to Paris


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Manneken PisManneken Pis
Manneken Pis

The most important monument in Brussels
Delirium CafeDelirium Cafe
Delirium Cafe

this cafe had 2,400 beers available - 200 on tap.
Chess cafeChess cafe
Chess cafe

I got whooped by an old man a few times


Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.2017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb