Chocolate and art


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Brussels-Capital Region » Brussels
July 16th 2005
Published: July 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

We flew to Brussels, Belgium yesterday. The moment we stepped out of the train station we knew for sure that we've left Greece behind. Venerable, art nouveau-ish buildings surround us instead of the modern, concrete, boxes that is Athens. The food here costs a night's accomodation in Greece so we've been surviving mainly on leftover marble cakes, bagel chips, and Pizza Hut when we decided to splurge last night. And everybody speaks English (except for the toilet cleaning lady in McDonald's), and it feels great for a change! Belgians speak French and Flemish. Our useless phrase book has no section on Flemish but I think it's sorta similar to German, no? Doesn't matter anyway, because like I said everybody speaks English.

Old town Brussels was a delight just to walk around. The Grand Place is, well, like its name says, grand. There are parks, thousands of overpriced cafes, lavishly decorated exterior palaces and churches, narrow alleys, the Europe like I've always imagined.

I think Belgium is known for its chocolate because we saw so many chocolate stores. They all look so posh and fancy. There was even one that has a little fountain with trickling melted chocolate. My taste buds have been dulled, probably from eating so much spicy food when I was young, so all chocolates taste the same to me so I'm not too excited over the fact. But I know my mom would.

Anyway, there's not much else to say. We're heading out for Brugge later on today and we're going shopping for Chris' Birkenstock. See ya all later.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



18th July 2005

About that chocolate . . .
. . . what with your taste buds having had such a tragic childhood and all, I'll make the sacrafice and do the tasting for you. Just be sure to bring a few samples home. I'll be sure to tell you ALL about them. :-) (Yum!) Sounds like the adventures continue. Take care of each other! Love, Mom

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.045s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb